Clinical priority areas

The Five Year Forward View and the Planning Guidance set out national ambitions for transformation in six vital clinical priorities:

  1. cancer
  2. mental health
  3. dementia
  4. diabetes
  5. learning disabilities
  6. maternity.

To reinforce our collective efforts in these areas, independent panels have been established.

In March 2017, the Next Steps on the NHS Five Year Forward View was published, highlighting a revised set of priorities, which included cancer, mental health and dementia.  Assessments of progress in these three clinical priority areas during 2016/17 have been made and are available on the MyNHS section of the NHS Choices website.

View the methodologies used for the 2016/17 assessments of cancer, mental health, dementia and diabetes.

Support and improvement offers

The support and improvement offers to help CCGs improve their performance in each of the clinical priority areas are listed below: