Clinical priority areas

The Five Year Forward View and the Planning Guidance set out national ambitions for transformation in six vital clinical priorities:

  1. cancer
  2. mental health
  3. dementia
  4. diabetes
  5. learning disabilities
  6. maternity.

To reinforce our collective efforts in these areas, independent panels have been established.

Assessments of progress in 2016/17 have been made in the following clinical priority areas:


This document sets out the methodologies used in the 2016/17 CCG assessments for cancer, mental health, dementia and diabetes.

Support and improvement offers

The support and improvement offers to help CCGs improve their performance in each of the clinical priority areas are listed below: