Clinical priority panels

Independent clinical panels have been set up to reinforce our efforts in the Five Year Forward View priority areas of: cancer, mental health, dementia, diabetes, learning disabilities and maternity.

Panel chairs agreed membership for their panels as follows:


Panel members

  • Emma Greenwood, Cancer Research UK
  • Charlotte Beardmore, Society and College of Radiographers
  • John Reeve, Patient representative
  • Richard Roope, Royal College of General Practitioners
  • Fran Woodard, Macmillan Cancer Support

Mental health

Chair: Paul Farmer, Chief Executive of Mind

Panel members

  • Christina Gray, Fellow in Public Health
  • Brian Dow, Rethink Mental Illness
  • Emma Thomas, YoungMinds
  • Louis Appleby, University of Manchester
  • Paul Burstow, Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust
  • Tim Croudace, University of Dundee
  • Jacqui Dyer, Inequalities Advisor to NHS England
  • Catherine Gamble, Royal College of Nursing
  • Phil Moore, NHS Clinical Commissioners
  • Vicki Nash, Mental Health Policy Group
  • Lyn Romeo, Department of Health
  • Esther Cohen-Tovee, British Psychological Society
  • Holly Paulsen, Royal College of Psychiatrists
  • Melanie Walker, NHS Confederation
  • Sarah Yiannoullou, National Survivor User Network
  • Deborah Cohen, Cambridgeshire & Petersborough NHS Foundation Trust
  • Helen Stokes-Lampard, Royal College of General Practitioners
  • Mark Trewin, Bradford Local Authority
  • Sean Duggan, NHS Confederation
  • Tom Gentry, Age UK
  • Wendy Burn, Royal College of Psychiatrists
  • Lizzy Ferguson
  • Prisha Shah
  • John Middleton, Faculty of Public Health


Chair: Jeremy Hughes, Chief Executive of the Alzheimer’s Society

Panel members

  • Alison Murray, Care Quality Commission
  • Alistair Burns, Manchester Uni/NHS England
  • Bridget Warr, UKHCA (United Kingdom Homecare Association)
  • David Nuttall, Department of Health
  • Eileen Sills, Guy’s and St Thomas NHS Foundation Trust
  • Frances Igbonwoke, NHS Improvement
  • Gavin Terry, Alzheimer’s Society
  • Hilary Doxford, Patient and Public Participator
  • Jennifer Bute, Patient and Public Participator
  • Jeremy Hughes, Alzheimer’s Society
  • Kim Wrigley, Manchester SCN/NHS England
  • Maxine Power, HAELO & Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
  • Michael Jackson, Public Health England
  • Peter Bagshaw, Gloucestershire CCG
  • Rosemary Phillips, Patient and Public Participator
  • Sarah Butt, NHS Improvement
  • Sarah Pickup, Local Government Association
  • Stuart Poole, Care Quality Commission – South London
  • Sue West, Alzheimer’s Society
  • Sunil Gupta, GP representative
  • Tessa Johnson, Department of Health
  • Tim Sanders, NHS Leeds CCG & Leeds City Council
  • Wendy Burn, Leeds and York Partnership NHS Foundation Trust


Chair: Chris Askew, Chief Executive of Diabetes UK

Panel members

  • Bob Young, Salford Consultant Physician
  • Sue Briggs, Patient representative
  • Fiona Campbell, Paediatric Diabetologist
  • Kate Fayers, Consultant Diabetologist
  • Kathy Hoffman, GP, CCG
  • Kamlesh Khunti, Academic GP
  • Marianne Littleford, Patient representative
  • Claire Neely, Diabetes Specialist Nurse
  • Gerry Rayman, Consultant Diabetologist
  • Garry Tan, Consultant Diabetologist

Learning disabilities

Co- Chairs:

  • Rob Webster, Chief Executive of South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Gavin Harding, Learning Disability Advisor, NHS England

Panel members

  • Alex Fox, Shared Lives
  • Fiona Ritchie, Turning Point
  • Steve Shrubb, Recently retired Chief Executive, West London Mental Health Trust
  • Sue Bailey, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges
  • Rob Greig, National Development Team for Inclusion


  • Jo Poynter, Local Government Association
  • Dominic Slowie, Former National Clinical Director – Learning Disabilities


Chair: Baroness Julia Cumberlege, Chair of National Maternity Review

Panel members

  • Sir Cyril Chantler, Vice chair of the maternity review
  • Mary Newburn, Service user representative
  • Mel Pickup, Warrington and Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mike Lane, Board Member, Wandsworth CCG