Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs)

Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012, and replaced Primary Care Trusts on 1 April 2013.

CCGs are groups of general practices (GPs) which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

CCGs buy services for their local community from any service provider that meets NHS standards and costs – these could be NHS hospitals, social enterprises, voluntary organisations or private sector providers. This means better care for patients, designed with knowledge of local services and commissioned in response to their needs.

CCGs commission a wide range of services including mental health services, urgent and emergency care, elective hospital services, and community care.

CCGs are responsible for about 60% of the NHS budget, they commission most secondary care services, and play a part in the commissioning of GP services (co-commissioning).

The types of services commissioned by CCGs include:

  • Planned hospital care
  • Rehabilitative care
  • Urgent and emergency care (including out-of-hours and NHS 111)
  • Most community health services
  • Mental health services
  • Learning disability and/or autism services

List of current clinical commissioning groups (CCGs)

  1. Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs)
  2. CCG maps