Roll out of the Programme

In June 2016 the process for roll out of the Healthier You: NHS Diabetes Prevention Programme (NHS DPP) began with a first wave of 27 areas covering 26 million people, half of the population, and making up to 20,000 places available. In April 2017 the programme was mobilised across a further 13 sustainability and transformation partnerships (STP). The programme is now available nationwide.

It is our ambition to support up to 100,000 people per year on programmes.

Our approach

Because the programme was launched prior to 2016, the first wave of roll-out was not aligned around STPs, as they did not exist at that time.  Therefore, some STPs already had partial coverage of the programme in place.  These areas have been re-procured, where possible, to enable them to operate as whole STP geographies. Any areas that remain unaligned with their STP footprint will be re-procured in 2019 to come together.

We continue to work with local health economies to develop plans for identifying and referring eligible individuals into the NHS DPP.

Those referred will get tailored, personalised help to reduce their risk of Type 2 diabetes including education on healthy eating and lifestyle, help with weight loss (for overweight participants), and bespoke physical exercise programmes, all of which together have been proven to reduce the risk of developing the disease. Over a minimum of nine months patients will be offered at least 13 education and exercise sessions of one to two hours; at least 16 hours face to face or one-to-one in total.

The areas by cohort are:

Wave 1

Berkshire East Birmingham and Solihull Bury
Camden, Islington and Haringey Cumbria (North, East and West) Dudley
Hertfordshire and West Essex Leeds Rochdale
The South East Coast Sheffield

Wave 2

BaNES, Swindon and Wiltshire Barnet and Enfield The Black Country
Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire Bradford Buckinghamshire, Oxford and Berkshire West
Cornwall and IoS Gloucestershire Greater Manchester
Hampshire and IoW Lancashire & South Cumbria Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes
South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw West Yorkshire

Wave 3

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough* Cheshire* and Merseyside Coventry and Warwickshire
Derbyshire* Devon Dorset
Durham*, Darlington, Teesside, Hambleton, Richmondshire & Whitby Herefordshire &andWorcestershire* Humber, Coast and Vale
Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland* Lincolnshire* Mid and South Essex*
Norfolk* and Waveney North East London* North West London*
Northamptonshire* Northumberland, Tyne and Wear and North Durham Nottinghamshire*
Shropshire Somerset South East London*
South West London* Staffordshire Suffolk and North East Essex*

*These sites were originally part of the Wave 1 cohort but have been re-procured in line with their STP.

As part of the development of the NHS Diabetes Prevention Programme, NHS England has consulted on the potential to use remote and digital technologies in the new service specification to enable the programme to offer greater uptake and access for service users.

This included incorporating remote options to support attendance and retention on the current face to face service as well as options for a new additional remote digital service.

Consultation was carried out in May/June 2018 with local health economies, provider organisations and the public on how this could best be achieved. Summaries of the results of those consultations follow:

You can see a summary of the public consultation on the Diabetes UK website.