The 6Cs

The 6Cs are the value base for Leading Change, Adding Value; a framework for nursing, midwifery and care staff.  These values were one of the great legacies created through ‘Compassion in Practice’, a three-year strategy that concluded in March 2016.  The 6Cs are:

  1. Care
  2. Compassion
  3. Competence
  4. Communication
  5. Courage
  6. Commitment

The 6Cs are embedded into everything nursing, midwifery and care staff do. We now need to bring the same focus to measuring the outcomes, experiences and use of resources involved in our work. In that way we will be able to demonstrate an extra dimension of our value.  Leading Change, Adding Value is a framework that nursing, midwifery and care staff can use to do this.  It can be used by everyone, whatever your role, wherever you work.

Leading Change, Adding Value

Visit our understanding Leading Change, Adding Value section to learn more about Leading Change, Adding Value.

You can now visit the Leading Change, Adding Value Atlas of Shared Learning – a growing collection of case studies quantifying the contribution of nursing, midwifery and care staff, demonstrating the delivery of the Five Year Forward View (FYFV) and other national, regional and local policy initiatives.

Keep updated on the latest news from Leading Change, Adding Value by signing up to receive our regular e-bulletin. Simply email your details to