Transforming children and young people’s Mental Health Support Teams and pilots

In 2018/19, 25 areas were selected as trailblazers and will launch 59 Mental Health Support Teams (MHSTs) in 2019. Of these, 12 areas are piloting a four-week waiting time.

2018/19 Trailblazers by region

North Midlands and East South West South East London
Newcastle Hertfordshire  Gloucestershire  Buckinghamshire Camden
Northumberland Stoke on Trent  Swindon  Berkshire West Tower Hamlets
South Tyneside Nottinghamshire  Oxfordshire Hounslow
Liverpool South Warwickshire  North Kent Haringey
Doncaster and Rotherham North Staffordshire Bromley
Kirklees SW London HCP
West London

Greater Manchester

Waiting time pilots by region (12 pilots total)

North Midlands and East South West South East London
 Northumberland Stoke on Trent and North Staffordshire Gloucestershire Buckinghamshire Camden
Doncaster and Rotherham South Warwickshire Oxfordshire Tower Hamlets

Greater Manchester

2019/20 MHST areas

Across England, the following 57 areas will take part in 2019/20, and these will start developing 123 Mental Health Support Teams (MHST) during 2020.

REGION MHST/STP Area * CCGS 19/20 Wave No. of MHST
                                                 England total             57 123
* Sites in bold are an expansion of 18-19 MHST trailblazer sites
London North East London City and Hackney Wave 1
North West London Hammersmith and Fulham Wave 1
North Central London Enfield Wave 1
South East London Greenwich Wave 1
North West London Central London Wave 1
North West London Hounslow Wave 1
South West London Kingston; Richmond; Croydon Wave 1
South East London Lewisham Wave 2
South West London Sutton; Wandsworth; Croydon Wave 2
North Central London Islington Wave 2
North Central London Barnet Wave 2
North West London Ealing Wave 2
Midlands Coventry and Warwickshire Coventry and Rugby; Warwickshire North Wave 1
Nottinghamshire Mansfield and Ashfield; Nottingham City Wave 1
Staffordshire Cannock Chase; East Staffordshire; North Staffordshire; South East Staffordshire and Seisdon Peninsula; Stafford and Surrounds; Stoke on Trent Wave 1
Birmingham and Solihull Birmingham and Solihull Wave 2
Black Country Wolverhampton; Walsall; Sandwell and West Birmingham; Dudley Wave 2
Derbyshire Derby and Derbyshire Wave 2
Lincolnshire South West Lincolnshire; Lincolnshire East; Lincolnshire West; South Lincolnshire Wave 2
Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin Telford and Wrekin; Shropshire Wave 2
East of England Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes Bedfordshire; Luton; Milton Keynes Wave 1
Hertfordshire and West Essex Hertfordshire; West Essex Wave 1
Mid and South Essex Mid Essex; Basildon and Brentwood; Castle Point and Rochford; Southend; Thurrock Wave 1
Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Wave 2
Norfolk and Waveney Norwich; North Norfolk; South Norfolk; West Norfolk; Great Yarmouth and Waveney Wave 2
Suffolk and North East Essex West Suffolk; Ipswich and East; North East Essex Wave 2
North East and Yorkshire North Kirklees and Greater Huddersfield North Kirklees and Greater Huddersfield Wave 1
Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees Wave 1
County Durham North Durham; Durham Dales; Easington and Sedgefield Wave 1
South Tyneside South Tyneside Wave 1
Leeds Leeds Wave 2
Bradford Bradford City; Bradford Districts Wave 2
North East Lincolnshire North East Lincolnshire Wave 2
Sheffield Sheffield Wave 2
Scarborough, Ryedale and Vale of York Scarborough, Ryedale and Vale of York Wave 2
North West Wirral Wirral Wave 1
Warrington Warrington Wave 1
Liverpool Liverpool Wave 1
Blackburn with Darwin Blackburn with Darwin Wave 2
Morecambe Bay Morecambe Bay Wave 2
Cheshire Cheshire Wave 2
South East Oxfordshire Oxfordshire Wave 1
Brighton and Hove Brighton and Hove Wave 1
East Sussex High Weald Lewes and Havens; Hastings and Rother; Eastbourne, Hailsham Seaford; East Sussex Wave 1
Portsmouth Portsmouth Wave 2
East Berkshire East Berkshire Wave 1
Berkshire West Berkshire West Wave 1
West Sussex Horsham and Mid Sussex; Crawley; Coastal West Sussex Wave 1
West Kent West Kent Wave 2
Hampshire North East Hampshire; Farnham Wave 2
Southampton City Southampton City Wave 2
South West Devon Devon Wave 1
Cornwall (Kernow) Kernow Wave 1


Somerset Somerset Wave 1
Dorset Dorset Wave 2
Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon and Wiltshire Wiltshire; Bath and North East Somerset Wave 2