GP Appraisers NHS England Central Midlands

Appraiser Resources

New Appraiser Training Resources

Senior Appraiser Team

The senior appraiser team is responsible for supporting the appraisal lead and the appraisers. They have a number of roles as follows:

  • Supporting new appraisers
  • Undertaking quality assurance reviews on 4 appraisals per year for each appraiser
  • Undertaking 1:1 reviews with each appraiser every 1 to 3 years
  • Supporting the mandatory training programme for appraisers
  • Delivering new appraiser training
  • Running local appraiser meetings
Hertfordshire
Claire Powell claire.powell5@nhs.net
Debra Gilbert debra.gilbert@nhs.net
Jonathan Freedman jonathan.freedman@nhs.net
Mark Brownfield markbrownfield@nhs.net
Mary Harding mary.harding3@nhs.net
Bedfordshire/Luton
Michael Curtin Michael.curtin@nhs.net
Fiona Dry Fiona.dry3@nhs.net
Leicestershire
Kathryn Oliver kjoliver@nhs.net
Eileen Cook eileencook@nhs.net
Lincolnshire
Sue Marris suemarris@nhs.net
Luqman Rajput luqmanrajput@nhs.net
Northamptonshire
Judy Craig Judy.craig@nhs.net
John Hart john.hart1@nhs.net
Gopal Sharma gopal.sharma@nhs.net

Revalidation Management System (RMS)

All appraisers should use the RMS for managing the doctors they are booked to appraise in the current appraisal year. It is essential that appraisers complete the Appraisal Output Summary (AoS) following an appraisal. Failure to complete the AoS means that invoices for appraisals will not be submitted for payment until the AoS has been completed.

Locality GP Appraiser Meetings

Local appraiser meetings are a very good opportunity to meet other appraisers and discuss appraisal issues with colleagues, receive advice and updates from the senior appraiser and to discuss ‘complex’ or problematic appraisals.

Local appraiser meetings are run 2-3 times a year in some of the localities across NHS England Central Midlands. If you wish to attend a meeting, please contact the relevant senior appraiser to find out when the next meeting is running.

East Herts – please contact Debra Gilbert at debra.gilbert@nhs.net
St. Albans  – please contact Sharena Sheikh at sharena.sheikh@nhs.net
North Herts – please contact Dr Claire Powell at claire.powell5@nhs.net
Bedfordshire and Luton – please contact Dr Michael Curtin at Michael.curtin@nhs.net
Kettering  – please contact John Hart john.hart@nhs.net

Mandatory Training 2018 – 19

Dates and venues for Mandatory Training 2018-19 are as follows:

 

  • Wednesday 17 October 2018, Barnsdale Hall Hotel and Spa, Nr Oakham, Rutland, LE15 8AB
  • Tuesday 6 November 2018, Hilton Northampton, 100 Watering Lane, Collingtree, Northamptonshire, NN4 0XW
  • Thursday 22 November 2018, Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, Roehyde Way, Hatfield, Hertfordshire, AL10 9AF
  • Tuesday 4 December 2018, Leicester Racecourse and Conference Centre, The Racecourse, Oadby, Leicester, LE2 4AL

It is now a mandatory requirement to attend one whole day of training. If you do not/are unable to attend a full day of training as required by the Senior Appraisal Team, you will not be allowed to appraise after 1 April 2019. You can however do the morning session on one day and the afternoon session on another if this fits better with your working hours. If, for any unforeseen circumstances, your situation changes closer to your booked date(s), please notify Mansi Khadia at england.centralmidlands.appraisals@nhs.net  as soon as possible so that a new venue and date can be booked.

An agenda and timings for each day will be sent to you on your NHS NET account closer to the time of the training.