Regional winners 2019

NHS regional teams across England announced the individuals and teams chosen as regional champions in the NHS Parliamentary Awards 2019

The champions – including NHS volunteers, patients, local council health teams and the creators of extraordinary digital innovations – will now vie with each other for a national award to be presented at a special ceremony in the Palace of Westminster in July.

The NHS Parliamentary Awards, supported by sponsorship from FUJI Film and the Premier League, recognises the massive contributions made by those who work in and alongside the NHS.

Launched in March, we asked MPs from across the country to find and nominate those individuals or teams they thought have made the biggest improvements to health services in their constituencies, across ten categories From more than 600 entries submitted by almost half of all MPs in England, senior NHS experts have chosen seventy outstanding nominations, which exemplify the best of what the NHS and its partners do day in, day out.

The shortlisted nominees are listed below. Further details about each nominee will be published on the NHS Parliamentary Awards website over the coming days and weeks.

The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award (Sponsored by the Premier League)

  • East of England: Jen Beer, Health Improvement Lead – Children and Young People, Public Health – Hertfordshire County Council
  • Midlands – Crisis Pathway – Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • North East and Yorkshire: ‘Reach-Out’ (Reduce, Educate, Assess & Care with Hope)
  • North West: The Life Rooms (Mersey Care)
  • South East – Oxfordshire Mental Health Partnership (OMHP)
  • South West: Kingfisher Treasure Seekers
  • London – FREED

The Excellence in Health Care Award

  • East of England: Sue Pilcher – Lead Cancer Nurse for Urology – NWAFT
  • London: Stefanie Looker Ward Manager of The Lotus Assessment Suite
  • Midlands: Mrs Olutayo Arikawe, The Priory Community Pharmacy, Dudley
  • North East and Yorkshire: Mr Joel Dunning, James Cook University Hospital Thoracic Team
  • North West: Bury Integrated Community Cardiology Pilot
  • South East: ICON, West Hampshire CCG
  • South West: Well Women Clinic Nurses

The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award

  • East of England: High Intensity User team, Milton Keynes
  • London: Dr Peter Buchman and the Pathway Homeless Team, the Royal London Hospital
  • Midlands: Urgent Care Streaming, Lincolnshire Community Health Services NHS Trust
  • North East and Yorkshire: Dr Dawn Ashley, North Tees EAU
  • North West: The Digital Health Service, Tameside & Glossop NHS Trust
  • South East: Jill Whibley, West Kent CCG
  • South West: Dr Rachel Morris, Weston General Hospital

The Excellence in Primary Care Award

  • East of England: Kevin Harris, Specialist Nurse, Thorpewood Medical Group
  • London: Dr Emily Symington, Croydon CCG
  • Midlands: Dr Carter Singh, Willowbrook Medical Practice
  • North East: Familiar Faces Team, Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (North Cumbria Integrated Health and Care System)
  • North West: Dr Abdul Hafeez, Al-Fal Medical Group
  • South East: RESTORE2, Recognise Early Soft-Signs, Take Observations, Respond, Escalate)
  • South West: Gloucestershire NHS Clinical Commissioning Group, Primary Care Workforce Team

The Future NHS Award

  • East of England: Darren Atkins, East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust (ESNEFT)
  • London: Digital Citizen Education programme, NHS North West London CCGs
  • Midlands: Dr James Reed, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • North East: The Autologous Haematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (AHSCT) team led by Professor Basil Sharrack and Professor John Snowden
  • North West: Dr Fiona Pender, Cheshire and Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • South East: : Vanessa Odlin, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • South West: Mrs Linzi Lancaster, Royal Cornwall Hospitals Trust

The Volunteer of the Year Award

  • East of England: Carer Support Team, Watford General Hospital
  • London: Yvonne Douglas-Morris, Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Midlands: Katy Chachou, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • North East: Jamie Preece, Barnsley Assistive Technology team
  • North West: Aintree University Hospital Volunteers
  • South East: Julie Ward, Maybridge Community Church
  • South West: Maggie Vale, Healthwatch Cornwall

The Care and Compassion Award

  • East of England: Arthur Rank Hospice Community Team
  • London: Greenvale Specialist Care Unit, South London & Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust
  • Midlands: Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust, Bereavement Suite
  • North East: Annie Darby, Service Development Manager
  • North West: Ms Stephanie John, Cheshire and Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • South East: Carers Health Team, Sussex Community Foundation Trust
  • South West: Kate Tantam and the ICU team

The Health Equalities Award

  • East of England: The Safeguarding Team, West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Midlands: Dr Gulshan Kaul, Westgate Practice
  • North East: Health and Wellbeing Coaches, Cumbria County Council
  • North West: LMCP
  • South East: Renu Bansil, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
  • South West: Primary Care Workforce Team, Gloucestershire NHS Clinical Commissioning Group
  • London: Ms Chantal Palmer, North Middlesex University Hospital NHS Trust

Wellbeing at Work Award

  • East of England: Lucy Eldon, East and North Hertfordshire CCG
  • London: Vicki Harvey-Piper, NHS Kingston and Richmond CCGs,
  • Midlands: Specialist Staff Psychology Service, Midlands Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • North East: Better Health At Work, NHS North Cumbria CCG
  • North West: Hate Crime Strategy Leadership Team – Secure Services at Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust – led by Bryan Dalgleigh-Warburton and Bhavna Parmar
  • South East: Bruce Montgomery, Frimley Health Trust
  • South West: Wellbeing at Work, Bristol

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • East of England: Kathy Gibbs, Princess Alexandra Hospital
  • London: Jane Pettifer, NHS Sutton CCG
  • Midlands: Professor Mandie Sunderland, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • North East: Madeline Large, Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • North West: Andy Styring, Cheshire & Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • South East: Pamela Campbell, Solent NHS Trust
  • South West: Mary Robertson, South Petherton Community Hospital League of Friends