National Quality Board: membership

The NQB’s membership is composed of the partner organisations who developed the Five Year Forward View (NHS England and NHS Improvement, Care Quality Commission (CQC), Health Education England (HEE) and Public Health England (PHE)), together with The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), NHS Digital and Healthwatch, the Department of Health and Social Care as overall ‘system steward’, and two Patient and Public Voice Experts.

The following are members of the National Quality Board (NQB):


  • Professor Steve Powis, National Medical Director, NHS England
  • Professor Ted Baker, Chief Inspector of Hospitals, Care Quality Commission


  • Ruth May, Chief Nursing Officer, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Aidan Fowler, National Director of Patient Safety, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Hugh McCaughey, National Director of Improvement, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Rosie Benneyworth, Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care, Care Quality Commission
  • Kate Terroni, Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care, Care Quality Commission
  • Clenton Farquharson, Patient and Public Voice Expert
  • Anna Severwright, Patient and Public Voice Expert
  • Imelda Redmond, National Director, Healthwatch England
  • Wendy Reid, Acting Chief Executive, Health Education England
  • Mark Radford, Director of Nursing, Health Education England
  • Yvonne Doyle, Director of Health Protection and Medical Director, Public Health England
  • Viv Bennett, Chief Nurse, Public Health England
  • Kevin Harris, Programme Director and Clinical Advisor, National Institute of Health and Care Excellence
  • Jonathan Benger, Interim Chief Medical Officer, NHS Digital
  • Lee McDonough, Director General for Acute Care and Workforce, Director of Health and Social Care