Veteran Aware NHS trusts

A group of 53 NHS providers have been accredited as exemplars of the best care for veterans, helping to drive improvements in NHS care for people who serve or have served in the UK armed forces and their families.

Veteran Aware trusts are leading the way in improving veterans’ care within the NHS, as part of the Veterans Covenant Healthcare Alliance (VCHA).

Veteran Aware providers will:

  • provide leaflets and posters to veterans and their families explaining what to expect
  • train relevant staff to be aware of veterans’ needs and the commitments of the NHS under the Armed Forces Covenant
  • inform staff if a veteran or their GP has told the hospital they have served in the armed forces
  • ensure that members of the armed forces community do not face disadvantage compared to other citizens when accessing NHS services
  • signpost to extra services that might be provided to the armed forces community by a charity or service organisation in the trust
  • look into what services are available in their locality, which patients would benefit from being referred to

The 53 NHS trusts that have been accredited as ‘Veteran Aware’ are as follows:

  1. Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals, Sussex Armed Forces Network
  2. Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  3. South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust
  4. Doncaster and Bassetlaw Foundation Trust
  5. East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust
  6. Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust
  7. Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  8. Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  9. Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  10. Norfolk and Norwich NHS Foundation Trust
  11. North Bristol NHS Trust
  12. North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust
  13. Northumbria NHS Foundation Trust
  14. North West Anglia NHS Foundation Trust
  15. Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
  16. Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  17. Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust
  18. Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust
  19. Royal Edinburgh Hospitals, NHS Lothian
  20. Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust
  21. Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
  22. South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  23. Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
  24. University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  25. Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust
  26. Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust
  27. Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  28. Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  29. Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  30. Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  31. University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
  32. Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust
  33. Weston Area Health NHS Trust
  34. Stockport NHS Foundation Trust
  35. Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  36. Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust
  37. University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust
  38. Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation Trust
  39. Bolton NHS Foundation Trust
  40. St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  41. Lancashire & South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust
  42. United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust
  43. Airedale NHS Foundation Trust
  44. Cheshire & Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  45. Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  46. The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust
  47. The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  48. Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust
  49. The Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust
  50. Humber Teaching NHS Foundation Trust
  51. Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  52. Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust
  53. Somerset NHS Foundation Trust

The recognition means that patients who have served in the UK armed forces will be cared for by frontline staff who have received training and education on their specific needs and who can also signpost them to other local support services.

How to become a Veteran Aware NHS trust:

Our ambition is to accredit all NHS providers in England as Veteran Aware. We continue to guide and equip our next volunteer trusts to help demonstrate that they meet the requirements of our manifestos. This involves providers sharing good practice in linking with local services for veterans and raising staff awareness of the Armed Forces Covenant.

If you would like to know more about becoming a Veteran Aware provider and being awarded the VCHA kitemark, please email

The introduction of the Veteran Aware standard for hospitals and the Veteran Friendly GP practices are really excellent initiatives. This is brilliant news for all and shows really effective working relationships between the MOD, the NHS and the charity sector. Great for all who serve and have served their nation.

Nicky Murdoch, Chair of the Armed Forces Public Patient Participation Involvement Group

If your trust is accredited as Veteran Aware, the following tools are available for download: