NHS system oversight framework segmentation

Document first published:
Page updated:
Publication type:

These documents outline the segmentation decisions for all integrated care systems (ICSs) and NHS trusts (including foundation trusts). NHS England and NHS Improvement have allocated trusts and ICSs to one of four ‘segments. A segmentation decision indicates the scale and general nature of support needs, from no specific support needs (segment 1) to a requirement for mandated intensive support (segment 4).


Updated 16 May 2022.


Published 11 November 2021.