Easy Read support

Making Transforming Care accessible for people with learning disabilities

Providing easily accessible communications is a Transforming Care Programme priority. As such, NHS England hosted a training day for health and social care colleagues from Transforming Care Partnerships across the south of England. Colleagues came together to master the art of producing easy read material – created specifically to help people with a learning disability understand information easily.

The training day taught attendees ‘how to’ while also offering an opportunity to really reflect on and think carefully about how we as individuals, Transforming Care Partnerships and wider health and social care communities, communicate – often not in an accessible way, particularly for individuals with a learning disability, autism or both.

Easy read is a form of accessible writing which helps us meet our legal duty to communicate accessibly – vital given as of the 1st August 2016; all organisations that provide NHS care or adult social care are legally required to follow the Accessible Information Standard.

Easy Read experts

If you work within a Transforming Care Partnership and need support producing easy read material contact one of our regional experts:

South East

Paul Jerome – paul.jerome@kent.gov.uk

Maria Bee – maria.bee@nhs.net

Phil Jarvis – phil.jarvis@bracknell-forest.gov.uk

Alison Donovan – adonovan@buckscc.gov.uk

Jeannie Brown – jeanniebrown@nhs.net

Daniel Binder – daniel.binder@eastsussex.gov.uk

South West

Emma Baily – emma.baily@surreydownsccg.nhs.uk

Connor Dicks – connor.dicks@bristolccg.nhs.uk

Louise Osborne – louise.osborne@westhampshireccg.nhs.uk

Alison Sargeant – alison.sargeant1@nhs.net

If you require broader support in terms of meeting the Accessible Information Standard contact emily.prior@nhs.net