The Workforce Race Equality Standard Advisory Group Proposal

Background

It was agreed at the 30 October 2014 meeting of the Equality and Diversity Council that an Advisory Group for the Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES) will be established, to support and guide the WRES work and to ensure regular reports are provided to the Council going forward. This paper outlines the proposed remit, criteria for selection and membership list for the Advisory Group. The EDC is asked to note the proposal.

Remit and membership criteria

It is proposed that the WRES Advisory Group will provide visible leadership, advice and direction on implementing the WRES with a threefold remit:

- 1. To embed the WRES into the NHS standard contract and commissioning contracts.
- 2. To embed the WRES into CQC and Monitor's inspection regimes.
- 3. To support a wider programme of behaviour and cultural change for race equality within the NHS.

The Advisory Group must include significant BME senior representation and will have a proposed two-year lifespan. Those re-numerated for WRES work may be attendees but **not** members of the Advisory Group. The Group will advise and report to the main meeting of the EDC.

Criteria for membership selection

- a) Chair of an ALB (or Chair's senior nominee)
- b) A demonstrable track record of commitment to the race equality agenda
- c) Evidence of significant contribution in this area
- d) Well-respected and an influencer at the most senior levels of the system

The membership will also include several EDC members with a relevant portfolio; in addition, the Advisory Group will be able to draw upon the expertise of two wider equality advisers.

Proposed membership

National chairs

- David Prior (Chair, Care Quality Commission)
- Sir Peter Carr (Chair, NHS Trust Development Agency)
- Andrew Cash (Chair, Shelford Group)
- Malcolm Grant (Chair, NHS England)
- Baroness Joan Hanham (Chair, Monitor)
- Professor David Heymann (Chair, Public Health England)
- Dame Gill Morgan (Chair, NHS Providers)
- Sir Keith Pearson (Chair, Health Education England)

Senior members

Lord Victor Adebowale (NED, NHS England / CEO, Turning Point)

- Jabeer Butt (Deputy Chief Executive, Race Equality Foundation, EDC Strategic Partners representative)
- Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent (Divisional Director of Nursing and Midwifery, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust)
- Marie Gabriel (Chair, East London NHS Foundation Trust)
- Professor Aneez Esmail (Academic expert on race)
- Dr Rajan Mahdok (Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management)
- Paul Martin (Chief Executive, Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Foundation, EDC Strategic Partners representative)
- Danny Mortimer (CEO, NHS Employers, EDC Workforce & Leadership subgroup)
- Lord Kamlesh Patel (Chair, Bradford Teaching Hospitals)
- Jon Restell (CEO, Managers in Partnership, Chair, Staff Passport Group)
- Terry Roberts (HR Director, Kingston Hospital NHS)
- Joy Warmington (CEO, BRAP national equalities and human rights charity / senior Trust Board member / Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust)

Advisers (non-members - to draw upon expertise as required)

- Dr Michael Drage (CEO, London-wide LMC / Trans person and HSJ LGBT role model)
- Joanna Owen (Senior Lawyer, EHRC, Disability in Employment and gender equalities expert)

Next steps

The Chair and Terms of Reference for the Advisory Group will be confirmed during the first meeting of the Advisory Group. It is anticipated that the Advisory Group will be established over the coming period and will have its first meeting during March 2015, and will feedback on progress to the 28 April 2015 meeting of the EDC.