# **BOARD MEETING HELD IN PUBLIC**



**Date/Time** Thursday, 30 March 2017 – 1045 - 1245

**Location** Skipton House, London

# **AGENDA**

	ITEMS	ACTION	LEAD				
OPENING REMARKS							
1.	Welcome and Introduction  • Apologies for Absence	-	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant				
	<ul> <li>Declarations of Interest</li> </ul>						
2.	Minutes of the Previous Meeting  • Matters arising	Approve	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant				
3.	Chairman's Report	Inform	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant				
4.	Chief Executive's Report	Inform	Simon Stevens				
STRATEGY AND FORWARD VIEW							
5.	NHS England's Mandate and Business Plan for 2017- 18	Inform	lan Dodge				
6.	Creating a genomic medicine service to lay the foundations to deliver personalised interventions and treatments	Approve	Professor Sir Bruce Keogh				
7.	General practice services – programme update	Inform	Professor Sir Bruce Keogh				
OPER	ATIONAL PERFORMANCE						
8.	NHS England Corporate and NHS Performance Report	Inform	Karen Wheeler & Matthew Swindells				
9.	NHS Finance Report	Inform	Paul Baumann				
GOVE	GOVERNANCE						
10.	Emergency Preparedness, Resilience and Response (EPRR)	Assure	Matthew Swindells				
11.	Safeguarding – Update on current progress	Assure	Professor Jane Cummings				
12.	Strengthening patient and public participation in NHS England – update and revised policy	Approve	Professor Jane Cummings				

13.	Reports from Board Committees			
	 	Commissioning Committee	Assure	David Roberts
		•	Assure	Dame Moira Gibb
	ii.	Investment Committee	Assure	Noel Gordon
	iii.	Specialised Services Commissioning Committee		
	iv.	Audit and Risk Assurance Committee	Assure	Joanne Shaw

#### **CLOSING REMARKS**

14.	Any other business	-	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant
15.	Resolution to exclude Representatives of the Media and Members of the Public from the Remainder of the Meeting (due to the confidential nature of the business to be transacted)		Professor Sir Malcolm Grant

Next Meeting: Thursday, 25 May 2017

#### Members:

Professor Sir Malcolm Grant Chairman

David Roberts Vice Chairman and Commissioning Committee Chair

Simon Stevens

Lord Victor Adebowale

Wendy Becker

Professor Sir John Burn

Chief Executive Officer

Non-Executive Member

Non-Executive Member

Dame Moira Gibb Non-Executive Member and Investment Committee Chair

Noel Gordon Non-Executive Member and Specialised Services Commissioning

Committee Chair

Joanne Shaw Non-Executive Member and Audit & Risk Assurance Committee

Chair

Michelle Mitchell
Paul Baumann
Chief Financial Officer
Professor Jane Cummings
Chief Nursing Officer

Ian Dodge National Director: Commissioning Strategy

Sir Bruce Keogh National Medical Director

Matthew Swindells National Director: Operations & Information

Karen Wheeler National Director: Transformation and Corporate Operations

## **Apologies:**

### Secretariat:

Lesley Tillotson Board Secretary