# **BOARD MEETING HELD IN PUBLIC**



**Date/Time** Thursday, 30 November 2017 – 1045-1245

**Location** Skipton House room 102A/124A

## **AGENDA**

	ITEMS	ACTION	LEAD					
OPENING REMARKS								
	<ul> <li>Welcome and Introduction</li> <li>Apologies for Absence</li> <li>Declarations of Interest</li> </ul>	-	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant					
1.	Minutes of the Previous Meeting  • Matters arising	Approve	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant					
2.	Chairman's Report	Inform	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant					
3.	Chief Executive's Report	Inform	Simon Stevens					
STRATE	STRATEGY AND FORWARD VIEW							
4.	Planning for 2018/19 in light of the Budget	Inform/ Approve	National Directors					
5.	Items which should not be routinely prescribed in primary care: findings of consultation and next steps	Approve	Bruce Keogh					
6.	Congenital Heart Disease Services for Adults and Children: Future Commissioning Arrangements	Approve	Paul Baumann (John Stewart)					
7.	National Guardian for the NHS – Annual Report for 2017	Inform/ Endorse	Emily Lawson (Dr Henrietta Hughes, National Guardian for the NHS)					
8.	Supporting and applying research in the NHS	Inform/ Assure	lan Dodge (Professor Chris Whitty, DH Chief Scientific Adviser)					
OPERATIONAL PERFORMANCE								
9.	NHS performance and progress on the implementation of 'Next Steps on the NHS Five Year Forward View'	Inform/ Assure	Matthew Swindells					
10.	NHS Finance Report	Inform/ Assure	Paul Baumann					

### **GOVERNANCE**

11.	Reports from Board Committees			
	i.	Commissioning Committee	Assure	David Roberts
	ii.	Investment Committee	Assure	Dame Moira Gibb
	iii.	Specialised Services Commissioning Committee	Assure	Noel Gordon
	iv.	Audit and Risk Assurance Committee	Assure	Joanne Shaw

#### **CLOSING REMARKS**

12.	Any other business	-	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant
	Resolution to exclude Representatives of the Media and Members of the Public from the Remainder of the Meeting (due to the confidential nature of the business to be transacted)	-	Professor Sir Malcolm Grant

Next Meeting: Thursday, 08 February 2018

### **Members:**

Professor Sir Malcolm Grant Chairman

David Roberts Vice Chairman and Commissioning Committee Chair

Simon Stevens Chief Executive Officer
Lord Victor Adebowale Non-Executive Member
Wendy Becker Non-Executive Member
Professor Sir John Burn Non-Executive Member

Dame Moira Gibb Non-Executive Member and Investment Committee Chair

Noel Gordon Non-Executive Member and Specialised Services Commissioning

Committee Chair

Michelle Mitchell Non-Executive Member

Joanne Shaw Non-Executive Member and Audit & Risk Assurance Committee

Chair

Paul Baumann Chief Financial Officer Professor Jane Cummings Chief Nursing Officer

Ian Dodge National Director: Strategy & Innovation

Professor Sir Bruce Keogh National Medical Director

Emily Lawson National Director: Transformation & Corporate Operations

Matthew Swindells National Director: Operations & Information

**Apologies:** 

Secretariat:

Lesley Tillotson Board Secretary