

Meetings in Common of the Boards of NHS England and NHS Improvement

Date/Time: Thursday, 25 November 2021 at 14.00-16.00pm

Location: MS Teams

Agenda - Public Board meeting

	Items	Purpose	Presenter
1.	Welcome 1.1 Apologies for Absence 1.2 Declarations of Interest 1.3 To approve minutes from the Board meetings held on 30 September 2021		David Prior
2.	Chief Executive's update	Update	Amanda Pritchard
3.	Operational performance update	Discussion	Julian Kelly, Mark Cubbon, Pauline Philip
4.	Update on Innovation, Research and Life Sciences and Accelerated Access Collaborative	Discussion	Tim Ferris, Matt Whitty
5.	Update on Mental Health Services	Discussion	Claire Murdoch, Tim Kendall
6.	Maternity and Neonatal Services Update	Discussion	Ruth May, Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent, Aidan Fowler
7.	Public Participation Assurance	Starred item – to note	
8.	Any other business and close		David Prior

Members:

NHS England

Lord David Prior Chair

Mike Coupe Non-Executive Director Lord Ara Darzi of Denham Non-Executive Director

Ian Dodge National Director for Primary Care, Community Services and Strategy

(non-voting member)

Amanda Pritchard Chief Executive Officer
Jeremy Townsend Non-Executive Director
Laura Wade-Gery Non-Executive Director, NHSE

NHS Improvement

Sir Andrew Morris Interim Chair

Sir David Behan Associate Non-Executive Director

Lord Patrick Carter of Coles

Dame Julia Goodfellow

Rakesh Kapoor

Wol Kolade

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Joint members

Dr Tim Ferris National Director of Transformation (non-voting member)

Mark Cubbon Interim Chief Operating Officer/ Director for Long Term Plan Delivery

Julian Kelly Chief Financial Officer
Ruth May Chief Nursing Officer

Professor Stephen Powis National Medical Director/Chief Executive Officer NHS Improvement

Standing attendees:

Pauline Philip National Director Urgent and Emergency Care

Katherine Ibbotson Director of Governance and Legal

Prerana Issar Chief People Officer

Barnabas Leavers Director of the Office of NHS Chairs, CEO and COO

Clare Perry Senior Business Manager to the Chairs

Attendees:

Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent OBE Chief Midwifery Officer, Maternity Safety Champions

Aidan Fowler National Director of Patient Safety

Tim Kendall National Clinical Director for Mental Health
Claire Murdoch Senior Responsible Officer for Mental Health

Matt Whitty Director of Innovation, Research and Life Sciences, and Chief Executive

of the Accelerated Access Collaborative

Apologies:

Susan Kilsby Non-Executive Director

Secretariat:

Sofia Bernsand Head of Board Governance