

Meetings in Common of the Boards of NHS England and NHS Improvement

Date/Time:Thursday, 24 March 2022 at 2pmLocation:MS Teams

Agenda

	Items	Purpose	Presenter(s)	
1.	 Welcome 1.1 Apologies for absence 1.2 Declarations of interest 1.3 To approve minutes from the Board meetings held on 27 January 2022 		David Prior	
2.	Chief Executive's update	Update Amanda Pritchard		
3.	Operational performance update	Discussion	David Sloman, Mark Cubbon Julian Kelly	
4.	Elective Recovery Programme update	Discussion	David Sloman, Jim Mackey	
5.	Health and Care Bill - update	Discussion	lan Dodge	
6.	Update on Life Sciences: Future of Life Sciences in the NHS	Approval	Tim Ferris, Blake Dark, Matt Whitty, John Bell, Sam Roberts, Peter Johnson, June Raine	
7.	Presentation of the 2020/21 Annual Report and Accounts	Starred item – to note		
8.	NHS England and NHS Improvement Slavery and Human Trafficking Statement for 2022/23	Starred item -to note		
9.	Annual Emergency Preparedness, Resilience and Response (EPRR) Assurance Report	Starred item – to note		
10.	NHS England Seal Report	Starred item – to note		
11.	Any other business and close		David Prior	

Members:

NHS England
Lord David Prior
Mike Coupe
Lord Ara Darzi of Denham
Amanda Pritchard
Jeremy Townsend
Laura Wade-Gery

Chair Non-Executive Director Non-Executive Director Chief Executive Officer Non-Executive Director Non-Executive Director, NHSE

Associate Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Interim Chair

NHS Improvement

Sir Andrew Morris Sir David Behan Lord Patrick Carter of Coles Dame Julia Goodfellow Rakesh Kapoor Wol Kolade Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed

Joint members

Sir David Sloman Julian Kelly Ruth May Professor Stephen Powis Chief Operating Officer Chief Financial Officer Chief Nursing Officer National Medical Director/Chief Executive Officer NHS Improvement

Attendees:	
Mark Cubbon Ian Dodge Navina Evans Dr Tim Ferris Katherine Ibbotson Richard Meddings Barnabas Leavers Clare Perry Pauline Philip Jacqui Rock	Chief Delivery Officer National Director for Primary Care, Community Services and Strategy Chief Executive, Health Education England (private session only) National Director of Transformation Director of Governance and Legal Incoming NHSE chair Director of the Office of NHS Chairs, CEO and COO Senior Business Manager to the Chairs National Director Urgent and Emergency Care Chief Commercial Officer
Presenters	
Professor Sir John Bell Blake Dark Professor Peter Johnson Jim Mackey Dr Sam Roberts Dame June Raine Matt Whitty	 Regius Professor of Medicine, University of Oxford, and Chairman of the Office for the Strategic Coordination of Health Research NHS Commercial Medicines Director Professor Peter Johnson - National Clinical Director for Cancer, NHS England, and Professor of Medical Oncology at the University of Southampton National Director for Elective Recovery Chief Executive, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Chief Executive, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) Director of Innovation, Research and Life Sciences, and Chief Executive of the Accelerated Access Collaborative
Apologies:	
Susan Kilsby Em Wilkinson-Brice	Non-Executive Director Acting Chief People Officer
Secretariat:	
0 (

Sofia Bernsand

Head of Board Governance