

## Meetings in Common of the Boards of NHS England and NHS Improvement

Date/Time:Thursday, 19 May 2022 at 2PMLocation:MS Teams

## Agenda

	Items	Purpose	Presenter (max 2-3)
1.	<ul> <li>Welcome</li> <li>1.1 Apologies for absence</li> <li>1.2 Declarations of interest</li> <li>1.3 To approve minutes from the Board meetings held on 24 March 2022</li> </ul>		Richard Meddings
2.	Chair update	Update	Richard Meddings
3.	Chief Executive's update	Update	Amanda Pritchard
4.	Operational performance update	Discussion	David Sloman, Mark Cubbon Julian Kelly
5.	Maternity and Neonatal Services Update	Discussion	Ruth May, Duncan Burton, Sarah-Jane Marsh, Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent, Aidan Fowler, Matthew Jolly, Phoebe Robinson
6.	Mental Health CYP & Adult Backlog Update	Discussion	David Sloman, Claire Murdoch, Tim Kendall
7.	Claire Fuller review into primary care	Discussion	Claire Fuller, Ian Dodge
8.	National Guardian's Office update and priorities for 2022/2023	Discussion	Jayne Chidgey-Clark
9.	Public Sector Equality Duty review report and future equality objectives and targets for NHS England and NHS Improvement	Starred item – to note	
10.	NHS England/Improvement Green Plan 2022-25	Starred item – to note	
11.	Any other business and close		Richard Meddings

Members:	
NHS England	
Richard Meddings	Chair
Mike Coupe	Non-Executive Director
Lord Ara Darzi of Denham	Non-Executive Director
Susan Kilsby	Non-Executive Director
Wol Kolade	Non-Executive Director
Amanda Pritchard	Chief Executive Officer
Laura Wade-Gery	Non-Executive Director
NHS Improvement	
Sir David Behan	Associate Non-Executive Director
Dame Julia Goodfellow	Non-Executive Director
Rakesh Kapoor	Non-Executive Director
Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed	Non-Executive Director
Joint members	
Sir David Sloman	Chief Operating Officer
Julian Kelly	Chief Financial Officer
Ruth May	Chief Nursing Officer

Attendees:	
Simon Bolton	Chief Executive, NHS Digital
Duncan Burton	Deputy Chief Nursing Officer (deputising for Ruth May)
Mark Cubbon	Chief Delivery Officer
lan Dodge	National Director for Primary Care, Community Services and Strategy
Navina Evans	Chief Executive, Health Education England (private session only)
Dr Tim Ferris	National Director of Transformation
Ellen Graham	Director of the Office of NHS Chairs, CEO and COO
Katherine Ibbotson	Director of Governance and Legal
Pauline Philip	National Director Urgent and Emergency Care
Jacqui Rock	Chief Commercial Officer
Em Wilkinson-Brice	Acting Chief People Officer
Presenters	
Jayne Chidgey-Clark	National Guardian for the NHS
Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent	Chief Midwifery Officer, Maternity Safety Champions
OBE	
Claire Fuller	Senior Responsible Officer for the Surrey Heartlands Integrated Care System
Aidan Fowler	National Director of Patient Safety
Matthew Jolly	Maternity Safety Champion
Tim Kendall	National Clinical Director for Mental Health
Sarah-Jane Marsh	Chair of the Maternity Transformation Programme
Claire Murdoch	Senior Responsible Officer for Mental Health
Phoebe Robinson	Director of Maternity, Children and Young People
Apologies:	
Sir Andrew Morris	Interim Chair
Jeremy Townsend	Non-Executive Director, NHS Improvement
Professor Stephen Powis	National Medical Director/Chief Executive Officer NHS Improvement
Lord Patrick Carter of Coles	Non-Executive Director
Secretariat:	

Sofia Bernsand

Head of Board Governance