

## **Meeting of the Board of NHS England**

**Date/Time:** Thursday, 6 October 2022 at 14.15pm

Location: Livestreamed

## Agenda

	Timin g	Items	Purpose	Presenter
1.	1415	Welcome 1.1 Apologies for absence 1.2 Declarations of interest 1.3 To approve minutes from the Board meetings held on 7 July 2022		Richard Meddings
2.	1420	Chair update	Update	Richard Meddings
3.	1430	Chief Executive Officer update	Update	Amanda Pritchard
4.	1450	Performance update: 4.1 Operational Performance Update 4.2 Financial Performance Update	Discussion	David Sloman Julian Kelly
5.	1510	Maternity and Neonatal Services - Update	Discussion	Ruth May, Jacqui Dunkley- Bent, Duncan Burton, Donald Peebles
6.	1530	Access to Primary Care	Discussion	Amanda Doyle
7.	1550	New Hospitals Programme	Discussion	Morag Stuart, Julian Kelly
8.	1600	Annual report on NHS England's work on healthcare inequalities, to improve access, experience and outcomes for all	Discussion	Chris Hopson, Dr Bola Owolabi
9.	*	Use of the NHS England seal	Starred item  – to note	
10.	*	Annual NHS England Freedom to Speak Up report	Starred item  – to note	
11.	1620	Any other business and close		Richard Meddings

Date of next meeting: 1 December 2022

## Members:

NHS England
Richard Meddings Chair

Sir David Behan Non-Executive Director Rakesh Kapoor Non-Executive Director Julian Kelly Chief Financial Officer

Wol Kolade Deputy Chair

Dame Ruth May Chief Nursing Officer

Sir Andrew Morris Deputy Chair

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed
Professor Stephen Powis
Amanda Pritchard
Sir David Sloman
Laura Wade-Gery

Non-Executive Director
National Medical Director
Chief Executive Officer
Chief Operating Officer
Non-Executive Director

**Attendees:** 

Mark Cubbon Chief Delivery Officer
Navina Evans Chief Workforce Officer

Dr Tim Ferris National Director of Transformation

Ellen Graham Director of the Office of NHS Chairs, CEO and COO

Chris Hopson Chief Strategy Officer

Pauline Philip National Director Urgent and Emergency Care

Jacqui Rock Chief Commercial Officer

Steve Russell National Director of Covid and Flu Vaccinations

**Presenters** 

Duncan Burton Deputy Chief Nursing Officer

Amanda Doyle National Director of Primary Care and Community Services

Claire Murdoch
Dr Bola Owolabi
Donald Peebles
National Director for Mental Health
Director of Health Inequalities
Consultant Obstetrician

Morag Stuart Chief Programme Officer, New Hospitals Programme

**Apologies:** 

Mike Coupe Non-Executive Director Susan Kilsby Non-Executive Director Jeremy Townsend Non-Executive Director

Secretariat:

Katie Neumann Head of Board Governance