

Meeting of the Board of NHS England

Date/Time: Thursday, 30 March 2023 at 14.30pm
Location: Wellington House, 133-155 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UG

	Timin	Items	Purpose	Presenter
4	4 400	Malagra		(max 2-3)
1.	1430	Welcome		Richard Meddings
		1.1 Apologies for absence		
		1.2 Declarations of interest		
		1.3To approve minutes from the Board meetings held on 2 February 2023		
2.	1435	Chair update	Update	Richard Meddings
3.	1450	Chief Executive Officer update	Update	Amanda Pritchard
4.	1510	Performance update:	Discussion	
		4.1 Operational Performance Update		David Sloman
		4.2 Financial Performance Update		Julian Kelly
5.	1540	NHS Innovation, Research and Life Sciences: mobilising the NHS behind research and innovation	Discussion	Matt Whitty
6.	1605	Three-year delivery plan for maternity and neonatal services	Discussion	Ruth May, Matthew Jolly, Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent, Ngozi Edi-Osagie, Duncan Burton
7.	1630	Revised NHS England Board Governance Framework	Information	Richard Meddings
8.	*	Annual Emergency Preparedness, Resilience and Response (EPRR) Assurance Report	Information	
9.	*	Report on the use of the NHS England Seal	Information	
10.	*	Directions issued to NHS England in relation to the functions transferred from NHS Digital since 1 February 2023: 10.1 The NHS England De-Identified Data Analytics and Publication Directions 2023	Information	

		10.2 Summary of NHS App 2023 Directions issued to NHS England by the Secretary of State in March 2023	
11.	1640	Any other business and close	Richard Meddings

Date of next meeting: 18 May 2023

Attendance

Members

Richard Meddings Chair

Sir David Behan Non-Executive Director
Mike Coupe Non-Executive Director
Rakesh Kapoor Non-Executive Director
Julian Kelly Chief Financial Officer

Wol Kolade Deputy Chair

Dame Ruth May Chief Nursing Officer

Sir Andrew Morris Deputy Chair

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed Non-Executive Director Professor Sir Stephen Powis National Medical Director Amanda Pritchard Chief Executive Officer Sir David Sloman **Chief Operating Officer** Jeremy Townsend Non-Executive Director Laura Wade-Gery Non-Executive Director Professor Sir Mark Walport Non-Executive Director Professor the Baroness Watkins Non-Executive Director Professor Sir Simon Wessely Non-Executive Director

Attendees

Navina Evans Chief Workforce Officer

Dr Tim Ferris National Director of Transformation

Chris Hopson Chief Strategy Officer

Katherine Ibbotson Director of Governance and Legal

Jacqui Rock Chief Commercial Officer

Steve Russell National Director of Covid and Flu Vaccinations

Presenters

Matt Whitty Director of Innovation, Research and Life Sciences

Matthew Jolly National Clinical Director for Maternity and Women's Health, and Maternity

Safety Champion

Prof Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent Chief Midwifery Officer, and Maternity Safety Champion

Dr Ngozi Edi-Osagie National Speciality Adviser for Neonatal Care

Duncan Burton Deputy Chief Nursing Officer

Apologies:

Susan Kilsby Non-Executive Director

Secretariat:

Katie Neumann Head of Board Governance