

# Meeting of the Board of NHS England

Date/Time: Thursday, 18 May 2023 at 14.15pm
Location: Wellington House, 133-155 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UG

	Timings	Item	Purpose	Presenter
				(Max of 3)
1.	1415	Welcome		Richard
		1.1 Apologies for absence		Meddings
		1.2 Declarations of interest		
		1.3 To approve minutes from the Board meetings 30 March 2023		
2.	1420	Chair update	Information	Richard Meddings
3.	1430	Chief Executive Officer update	Information	Amanda Pritchard
4.	1450	Performance update: 1. Operational Performance Update 2. Financial Performance	Discussion	Sarah-Jane Marsh Julian Kelly
5.	1515	Update Primary Care Access Recovery Plan	Discussion	Dr Amanda Doyle
6.	1530	Technology & innovation in the NHS	Discussion	Tim Ferris
7.	1555	National Guardian's Office update and priorities for 2023/24	Discussion	Dr Jayne Chidgey- Clarke
8.	1615	Specific Equality Duties: NHS England review report 2022/23; the future report 2023/24 & 2024/25; and the engagement report	Approval	Ruth May Neil Churchill Steve Russell Navina Evans
9.	1630	Any other business and close		Richard Meddings

## **Attendance**

#### **Members**

Richard Meddings Chair

Sir David Behan

Mike Coupe

Rakesh Kapoor

Julian Kelly

Dame Ruth May

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

Chief Financial Officer

Chief Nursing Officer

Sarah Jane Marsh Deputy Chief Operating Officer / National Director of Urgent and

Emergency Care (deputising for Sir David Sloman, Chief Operating

Officer)

Sir Andrew Morris Deputy Chair

Professor Sir Munir Non-Executive Director

Pirmohamed

Professor Sir Stephen Powis
Amanda Pritchard
Jeremy Townsend
Laura Wade-Gery
Professor the Baroness

National Medical Director
Chief Executive Officer
Non-Executive Director
Non-Executive Director

Watkins

Professor Sir Simon Wessely Non-Executive Director

#### **Attendees**

Navina Evans Chief Workforce Officer

Dr Tim Ferris National Director of Transformation

Chris Hopson Chief Strategy Officer
Jacqui Rock Chief Commercial Officer

Steve Russell National Director of Covid and Flu Vaccinations

# **Presenters**

**Public Session** 

Amanda Doyle

Dr Jayne Chidgey-Clarke

Dr Neil Churchill OBE

National Director for Primary Care & Community Services

National Guardian for Freedom to Speak up in the NHS

Director for Experience, Participation & Equalities

## **Apologies:**

Rakesh Kapoor Non-Executive Director Susan Kilsby Non-Executive Director

Wol Kolade Deputy Chair

Sir David Sloman Chief Operating Officer Professor Sir Mark Walport Non-Executive Director

# **Secretariat:**

Katie Neumann Head of Board Governance