Three South West health and care champions scoop prestigious NHS parliamentary awards

The NHS in the South West is today celebrating after winning three prestigious national parliamentary awards.
The winners who were nominated by South West MPs were honoured at an awards ceremony at the House of Commons in London.

  • Ade Williams, a pharmacist from Bedminster in Bristol picked up The Excellence in Primary Care Award.
  • Wellbeing at Work Team, North Bristol NHS Trust collected The Wellbeing at Work Award.
  • Kate Tantam & the ICU Rehabilitation Team, University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust received The Care and Compassion Award.

The winners were chosen to represent the South West from hundreds of nominations and were up against finalists throughout the country. There were ten categories in total and the three awards in the South West were more than any other region.

The NHS parliamentary awards recognise the massive contribution made by the individuals and teams who work in and alongside the NHS. Launched in February, the region’s MPs were asked to nominate those they thought have made the biggest improvements to health services in their constituencies across ten categories.

Congratulating the winners, Elizabeth O’Mahony, NHS England and NHS Improvement Regional Director South West said: “The three outstanding winners exemplify the best of what the NHS and its partners do, day in and day out. Throughout the NHS in the South West, people are going the extra mile to improve care for patients. The parliamentary awards are well deserved recognition for the achievements of our winners and I would like to thank the region’s MPs for making the nominations.”