South East’s Health and care heroes honoured in NHS Parliament Awards

MPs and NHS leaders in the South East have joined forces to honour health and care staff who have helped to improve treatment for patients in the regional round of the NHS Parliamentary Awards, announced today.

Nominations were up by more than 20% compared to 2019 which just reflects the appreciation for NHS staff within the region.

The coronavirus pandemic, the greatest public health challenge in the NHS history has prompted a record number of nominations from MPs across the country who have sought to shine a light on the dedication of nurses, midwives, GPs, physios, pharmacists, healthcare assistants, porters, cleaners, and countless other staff who have contributed to the unprecedented response.

The judges, drawn from across the NHS have today selected the 10 regional winners who have been selected from over 107 nominations, one in each of the 10 categories.

The ten regional champions selected by an expert NHS panel are:

  • The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award (supported by Lloyds Banking Group): Buckinghamshire Perinatal Mental Health Team, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust nominated by Steve Baker MP
  • The Excellence in Health Care Award: The research teams working on the COVID-19 vaccine at the University of Oxford: Oxford Vaccine Group and Jenner Institute nominated by Layla Moran MP
  • The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: The Emergency Department, Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust nominated by Helen Grant MP
  • The Excellence in Primary Care Award (supported by Assura plc): Dr Bruce Allan, NHS Sussex Clinical Commissioning Groups nominated by Gillian Keegan MP
  • The Future NHS Award: The Musculoskeletal Physiotherapy Team, Ashford and St Peter’s Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust nominated by Ben Spencer MP
  • The NHS Rising star Award (supported by Fujifilm UK): Carolina Lamb, Isle of Wight NHS Trust nominated by Bob Seely MP
  • The Care and Compassion Award (supported by LV=): Community palliative care Covid-19 response, Guildford and Waverley Integrated Care Partnership nominated by Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP MP
  • The Health Equalities Award: The Hepatitis Outreach Team, Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust nominated by Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP
  • The Wellbeing at Work Award: Rebecca Kopecek, Portsmouth Hospitals University NHS Trust nominated by Caroline Dinenage MP
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award: Mr Brian Martin, Isle of Wight NHS Trust, nominated by Bob Seely MP

Vaughan Lewis, South East NHS England and NHS Improvement Medical Director said: “I was impressed by the high standard of all entries from the South East this year and choosing between the dozens of teams and individuals who all go above and beyond, to go forward and represent our region, has been incredibly difficult. I wish our champions the best of luck in the national heats and will be rooting for them on the day.”

These regional champions will now go head to head with other winners from across the country to be judged by a national panel made up of senior leaders representing staff and patients, for the chance to win the prestigious national award which will be presented at a special ceremony in the House of Commons on the 7 July 2021.

England’s Chief Midwife and chair of the national judging panel this year, Professor Jaqueline Dunkley Bent, said: “A huge congratulations to all those who have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the NHS as well as making a genuine difference to the patients they care for.

“NHS staff and volunteers make the health service what it is today – the largest and greatest care team in the world.

“This year more than ever, the nation owes a debt of gratitude to the 1.3 million-strong army of nurses, midwives, doctors, physios, pharmacists, healthcare and maternity care assistants porters, cleaners, and countless other staff who ensured no patient who could benefit from NHS care was unable to receive it.

“It will be a tough task selecting our overall winners – I look forward to hearing more about their fantastic achievements and celebrating with them all at the national award ceremony.”

The full list of regional winners can be found at

All of the champions will now be invited to the national awards ceremony and will receive 60,000 Avios points. The overall winners will be announced in July at special ceremony in the House of Commons.