Wave 1 applications for CCG authorisation

The NHS Commissioning Board Authority has today confirmed the 35 aspiring clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) who have chosen to be assessed in the first wave of applications for authorisation.

These are:

  • Bassetlaw
  • Blackpool
  • Bedfordshire
  • Calderdale
  • Cumbria
  • Dudley
  • East & North Herts
  • East Leicestershire & Rutland
  • East Riding
  • Gloucestershire
  • Great Yarmouth & Waveney
  • Islington
  • Kernow (Cornwall)
  • Kingston
  • Leicester City
  • Liverpool
  • Newbury & District
  • North & West Reading
  • North East Lincolnshire
  • North Staffordshire
  • Oldham
  • Oxfordshire
  • Portsmouth
  • Rotherham
  • Sandwell & West Birmingham
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Reading
  • Stoke on Trent
  • Wakefield
  • Wandsworth
  • Warrington
  • West Cheshire
  • West Leicestershire
  • Wokingham

Applications for authorisation will take place in four waves from July 2012 to January 2013.

Dame Barbara Hakin, National Director of Commissioning Development at the NHS Commissioning Board Authority says, “All the emerging clinical commissioning groups have made fantastic progress to prepare themselves for authorisation. Today we are confirming those who have chosen to be assessed in wave 1.

We expect confirmation of which CCGs will be assessed in waves 2, 3 and 4 shortly.

We will continue to work with all emerging CCGs over the coming months to guide and support them on their journey to establishment to ensure they are in a strong position to take on their full responsibilities.”