NHS Leadership Academy announces finalists for the NHS Leadership Recognition Awards 2012

The NHS Leadership Academy announced the finalists for the NHS Leadership Recognition Awards 2012. The peer-nominated national awards aim to recognise and celebrate outstanding leadership across the system and to share good leadership practice.

The prestigious judging panels, chaired by Jim Easton, did a phenomenal job over the summer ensuring a robust judging process resulting in an exciting and varied short-list for 2012.

The short-list has 31 finalists across nine leadership categories reflecting a cross-section of many health professions including ward nurses and health trainers, surgeons, managers and dieticians. Nikki Leach finalist in the NHS Community Leader of the Year category said,

“I am thrilled to be short-listed. I am immensely proud of the high standard of care we offer in Tameside and Glossop, and it’s a real honour to be recognised in this way, as well as a testament to the hard work and commitment of al our staff”. 

The Managing Director of the NHS Leadership Academy Jan Sobieraj said,

The 2012 finalists’ stories show just what can be achieved through outstanding leadership across the system.  They have all, one way or another, created environments where the people around them feel empowered to develop and flourish. This in turn impacts upon the outcomes for our patients and their well-being. I’d like to congratulate them all for reaching the shortlist and to thank them for the inspirational work they do”.

The category winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on the 10th of December at Barts Great Hall.

For further details on the judging panel and the short-list, please see the awards website or the twitter hashtag #NHSLRA.