Who can use the framework

The Health Systems Support Framework can be used by NHS Trusts and other care providers, GP, Primary Care and Community Providers, Local Authorities, Integrated Care Systems (ICS) and Sustainability and Transformation Partnerships (STPs), Clinical Commissioning Groups and a wide range of public sector bodies, where they are supporting STPs, ICS, or health and social care in general.

As listed within the OJEU advert, The Framework Agreement may be accessed by the public sector bodies listed below to the extent that they are engaged in the management and/or support of the health, care and/or wellbeing of populations within the UK or for which they are responsible:

  • The National Health Service Commissioning Board (known as NHS England);
  • Any other health service body as defined at section 9 National Health Service Act 2006, including but not limited to:
    • any Clinical Commissioning Group;
    • any NHS Trust;
    • any Special Health Authority;
    • The Care Quality Commission;
    • The Secretary of State;
    • a Local Health Board;
    • a Health Board or Special Health Board constituted under section 2 of the National Health Service (Scotland) Act 1978;
    • a Health and Social Services Board constituted under the Health and Personal Social Services (Northern Ireland) Order 1972 (SI 1972/1265 (NI14));
      • (viv) the Common Services Agency for the Scottish Health Service;
    • the Wales Centre for Health;
    • the Scottish Dental Practice Board;
    • the Welsh Ministers;
    • the Scottish Ministers,
    • Healthcare Improvement Scotland;
    • the Northern Ireland Central Services Agency for the Health and Social Services established under the Health and Personal Social Services (Northern Ireland) Order 1972;
    • a special health and social services agency established under the Health and Personal Social Services (Special Agencies) (Northern Ireland) Order 1990 (SI 1990/247 (NI3));
    • a Health and Social Services trust established under the Health and Personal Social Services (Northern Ireland) Order 1991 (SI 1991/194 (NI1));
    • the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (a body of the Northern Ireland Executive)
  • NHS Foundation Trusts;
  • Academic Health Science Networks;
  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, known as NICE;
  • The Health and Social Care Information Centre, known as NHS Digital;
  • NHS Improvement (the operational name of Monitor and the National Health Service Trust Development Authority);
  • Health Education England and Local Education and Training Boards (LETBs);
  • NHS Health Research Authority;
  • The Department of Health;
  • National Institute of Health Research;
  • Executive agencies of the Department of Health including but not limited to Public Health England, the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency;
  • Arms-Length Bodies and executive non-departmental public bodies of the Department of Health not otherwise listed above in this Section VI including but not limited to NHS Blood and Transplant, NHS Business Services Authority, NHS Litigation Authority (known as NHS Resolution), the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority, and the Human Tissue Authority;
  • Ministry of Defence including its executive agencies and executive non-departmental public bodies;
  • Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy and its executive non-departmental public bodies, including but not limited to the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC), the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), the Medical Research Council (MRC), the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), UK Research and Innovation;
  • Office for National Statistics;
  • Office for Life Sciences;
  • NHS Scotland, its Regional NHS Boards, Special NHS Boards and public bodies;
  • Health organisations of Northern;
  • All Local Authorities of England and Wales, as defined under section 1 the Local Government Act 2000 including Health and Well Being Boards established by any Local Authority;
  • All Scottish Local Authorities;
  • All Northern Ireland Social Care organisations;
  • All Universities in the UK:
  • All police forces:
    • All UK police and crime commissioners;
  • All fire and rescue authorities;
  • The Ministry of Justice and its executive agencies including, but not limited to Her Majesty’s Prison and Probation Service;
  • The Scottish Prison Service (SPS), an agency of the Scottish Government;
  • Registered Providers of Social Housing within the meaning of the Housing and Regeneration Act 2008;

The Framework may also be accessed by non-Contracting Authorities. These could include for example:

  • General Practices in the UK;
  • Other providers of clinical services in the UK;
  • Organisations that fulfil the conditions of Regulation 12 (1) of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015 (commonly known as a Teckal Company) where the controlling Contracting Authority or Authorities are one or more of the Contracting Authorities listed above (and/or a legal person controlled by one or more of the Contracting Authorities listed above).

The Framework Agreement shall be accessible to the above named organisations whether procuring themselves, or on behalf of other such named organisations, or procuring together as members of any joint procurement.

When can I buy from the framework

When procuring services, any contracts with a value over the procurement threshold need to be procured fairly and competitively in accordance with the Public Contracts Regulations. The current thresholds for procurement are:

  • £118,133 for Central Government Authorities (as listed at Schedule 1 of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015), and
  • £181,302 for all other authorities.