Kate Granger Awards for Compassionate Care

The Kate Granger Awards for Compassionate Care are named after Dr Kate Granger, who sadly passed away in 2016. Kate worked tirelessly to raise awareness around compassion in the NHS through her #hellomynameis social media campaign. This years’ awards will be presented at the Health and Innovation Expo 2018 at Manchester Central on 5 and 6 September.

It was while undergoing treatment for cancer that Dr Granger started writing about seeing the NHS “through the eyes of a patient”. She launched #hellomynameis campaign to talk about some of her intensely moving experiences.

The campaign reminds health care professionals of the importance of introducing themselves to patients and how a relatively ‘little thing’ can positively affect a patient’s experience of the treatment and care they receive. Kate’s campaign is now supported by UK healthcare organisations and many across the World.

Who can enter the awards?

There are three main award categories and an additional category to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the NHS:

  • Individual working in the NHS or delivering NHS funded services.
  • Teams that are part of the NHS or who deliver NHS funded services.
  • Organisations that are part of the NHS or deliver NHS funded services.
  • 70 years’ of compassionate care aimed at innovators and leaders over the past seven decades.

To make your nomination or entry, all you have to do is write a short description of the project accompanied by a citation. These services can be delivered in hospitals, or a primary care, community or residential setting.

Make your nominations/entries here via our online form

What are the judges looking for?

We’re looking for an individual, team or organisation that has made a fantastic difference to patient care. We will be looking in particular for:

  • an ambitious and innovative way of delivering patient care
  • high-quality management and leadership
  • an approach that can be easily measured and have a real impact
  • how the approach has made a difference to patient care
  • how it makes a difference in the long term
  • how easily it can be replicated in other organisations

For the 70 Years’ of Compassionate Care Awards, the 6Cs with be used as the judging criteria:

  • Care
  • Compassion
  • Competence
  • Communication
  • Courage
  • Commitment

Presentation of the awards

The awards will be presented at the Health and Innovation Care Expo 2018 at Manchester Central on either 5 or 6 September.

Two finalists in each category will be chosen by a judging panel that will include but not limited to Kate’s close friend and colleague Dr Natalie Silvey, Kate’s husband, Chris Pointon and Jane Cummings, Chief Nursing Officer for England.