Clinical Senates

Clinical Senates have been established to be a source of independent, strategic advice and guidance to commissioners and other stakeholders to assist them to make the best decisions about healthcare for the populations they represent.

They are comprised of a core Clinical Senate Council and a wider Clinical Senate Assembly or Forum.

The Clinical Senate Assembly or Forum is a diverse multi-professional forum providing the Council with ready access to experts from a broad range of health and care professions. Membership of the Assembly or Forum will encompass the ‘birth to death’ spectrum of NHS care and will include patient representatives.

The Clinical Senate Council is a small multi-professional steering group. This group co-ordinates and manages the Senate’s business. It will maintain a strategic overview across their region and be responsible for the formulation and provision of advice working with the broader Senate Assembly or Forum.

There are 10 Clinical Senates across England:

Senate Website Head of Senate Email address
Northern England Senate Jeanette Unwin
North West Senate

(formerly Greater Manchester, Lancashire and South Cumbria Senate and Cheshire and Mersey Senate)

Caroline Baines
Yorkshire and the Humber Clinical Senate Jeanette Unwin
East of England Senate Mary Parfitt
East Midlands Senate Emma Orrock
South West Senate Ajike Alli Ameh
South East Hampshire and Thames Valley Senate Emily Steward
West Midlands Senate Emma Orrock
London Senate Emily Webster