Integrated Care Boards in England

Document first published:
Page updated:
Publication type:

A table has been produced which sets out the statutory list of areas and the accompanying map shows the areas covered by the 42 ICBs (and ICSs) across England.



Column 1 – shows the legal names of the Integrated Care Boards as to be specified in the establishment order and their constitutions.

Columns 2 and 3 – the entries in these columns describe the area of each ICB using local government areas and LSOAs (Lower Super Output Areas) which are small geographical areas created by the Office for National Statistics following the 2011 census. They are referred to by codes starting E01.

Column 2 – specifies the local government areas which are comprised or wholly contained within the ICB’s area.  The names refer to local government areas for which there is a Lower Tier Local Authority (LTLA) i.e.

  • London boroughs
  • metropolitan boroughs
  • areas for which there is a unitary authority
  • districts where there is a two-tier system (both a county council and district councils).

Column 3 – specifies any additional area included in the area of the ICB, where only part of a LTLA area is within an ICB’s area. These additional areas are specified in terms of LSOAs.