NHS oversight framework segmentation

Document first published:
Page updated:
Publication type:

These documents outline the segmentation decisions for all integrated care boards (ICBs) and NHS trusts (including foundation trusts). NHS England has allocated trusts and ICBs to one of four ‘segments’. A segmentation decision indicates the scale and general nature of support needs, from no specific support needs (segment 1) to a requirement for mandated intensive support (segment 4).


Updated 12th April 2024


Updated 4th March 2024