NHS DPP Expert Reference Group

An Expert Reference Group has been formed to guide the development and implementation of the NHS DPP.


  • Professor Jonathan Valabhji (Chair), National Clinical Director for Obesity and Diabetes, NHS England; Consultant Diabetologist
  • Dr Alison Tedstone, Director of Diet and Obesity, Public Health England
  • Simon O’Neill, Director of Health Intelligence and Professional Liaison, Diabetes UK
  • Dr Matt Kearney, GP Castlefields, Runcorn; National Clinical advisor, NHS England; National Clinical Advisor, Public Health England
  • Professor Nick Wareham, Chair of Guideline Development Group for NICE PH38; Co-Director, Institute of Metabolic Science and Director, MRC Epidemiology Unit, University of Cambridge; Honorary Consultant Diabetologist
  • Professor Kamlesh Khunti, Chair of Guideline Development Group for NICE PH35; Professor of Primary
    Care Diabetes & Vascular Medicine, General Practitioner, University of Leicester
  • Dr Bob Young, Consultant Diabetologist in Salford (Demonstrator Site); Clinical Lead of the National Diabetes Audit
  • Professor Susan Jebb, Professor of Diet and Population Health at the Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford
  • Dr Anne Mackie, UK National Screening Committee Screening Programmes Director
  • Jim McManus, Director of Public Health for Hertfordshire.