Accessing support

The 2017/18 year is the second year for the GP Resilience Programme and we have updated the guidance for the programme. The guidance provides a framework for NHS England local teams to work with key stakeholders, ensuring there is local flexibility and ownership in the implementation of the programme.

The guidance sets out the criteria to ensure that support is managed consistently while also giving local teams the flexibility to meet local needs the guidance also describes the menu of support that should be secured and offered subject to locally assessed needs.

We are committed to supporting practices over the long term in order to ensure that they are better placed to tackle the challenges they face now and into the future. With this in mind, the guidance allows local teams to identify practices for continued support while also allowing the flexibility for practices which have not previously received funding under the programme to be identified and supported.

While local teams can identify practices for support, a new addition to the guidance is a template to support practices to self-refer/enquire about support. This will make it easier for practices to actively seek support, should they wish. Once the template is completed, it can be referred to local teams as detailed below.

How can GP practices access this support?

All funding is allocated to NHS England’s local teams who are responsible for working locally with Clinical Commissioning Groups and Local Medical Committees to determine the nature of the support, securing this and selecting which practices are to be prioritised for this support ensuring it is targeted to practices or localities in greatest need.

NHS England local teams have already delivered support to over 2,000 practices as part of the first year of the programme, including diagnostic assessments and practical advice and help to secure agreed improvements. However 2017/18 is the second year of a four-year programme and, it’s not too late for practices wanting support to be considered.

Following the first year of the programme, several resources have been developed by local teams and supporting partners. These include diagnostic tools produced by Wessex LMC.

GP practices should contact their NHS England local office for more information as early as possible to discuss support.

North Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
Cheshire and Merseyside Kirk Benyon kirk.benyon@nhs.net
Cumbria and North East Helen Reynard, Claire Lynch helen.reynard@nhs.netclaire.lynch5@nhs.net
Lancashire Louise Fazackerley louise.fazackerley@nhs.net
South Yorkshire Karen Curran karencurran@nhs.net
West Yorkshire Kathryn Hilliam, Anna Ladd kathryn.hilliam@nhs.netanna.ladd@nhs.net
North Yorkshire Heather Marsh, Chris Clarke heathermarsh@nhs.netchris.clarke3@nhs.net
Greater Manchester Ben Squires ben.squires@nhs.net

Midlands & East Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
Central Locality (Leicester, Leicestershire & Rutland and Northampton) Lesley Harrison lesley.harrison8@nhs.net
North Locality (Lincolnshire) Judy Patrick, Adrian Audis judy.patrick@nhs.net, adrianaudis@nhs.net
South Locality (Hertfordshire, Bedford/Bedfordshire, Luton, Milton Keynes) Nick Ince, Andrew Tarry nicholasince@nhs.netandrew.tarry@nhs.net
East Anglia (Cambridgeshire, Peterborough, Norfolk, Suffolk, Great Yarmouth & Waveney) Andrea Patman england.eastgpresilience@nhs.net
Essex Alison Cowie england.eastgpresilience@nhs.net
North Midlands Joe Lunn joe.lunn@nhs.net, soyuz.shrestha1@nhs.net
West Midlands Anna Nicholls anna.nicholls@nhs.net

London Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
North East London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net
North West London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net
South London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net

South Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
South Central Rachel Thompson rachel.thompson7@nhs.net
South East Kirsty Lewis Kirstylewis2@nhs.net
South West Pam Smith pam.smith3@nhs.net
Wessex Olivia Falgayrac-Jones olivia.falgayrac-jones@nhs.net

View the template Memorandum of Understanding which is the outline agreement for practices taking up support.

Other relevant programmes of support

In addition to the General Practice Resilience Programme, there are other national programmes currently   offering support to GP practices and GPs (including trainee GPs).

  • RCGP Peer Support Programme – provided improvement support to practices entering CQC special measures following their first inspection visit. This programme was extended to October 2017, but is no longer accepting new referrals as funding has expired.
  • GP Health Service– providing support and treatment for GPs with mental ill health and addiction issues.