Accessing support

National guidance for the Resilience Programme provides a framework for NHS England local teams to work with key stakeholders, ensuring there is local flexibility and ownership in the implementation of the programme. The guidance sets out the criteria to ensure the prioritisation and selection of practices to be offered support is managed consistently (including practices rated as inadequate or requiring improvement by CQC) and describes the menu of support that should be secured and offered subject to locally assessed needs.

How can GP practices access this support?

All funding is allocated to NHS England’s local teams who are responsible for working locally with Clinical Commissioning Groups and Local Medical Committees to determine the nature of the support, securing this and selecting which practices are to be prioritised for this support ensuring it is targeted to practices or localities in greatest need.

NHS England local teams are already delivering support to hundreds of practices as part of the first round of the programme, including diagnostic assessments and practical advice and help to secure agreed improvements. However this is a four-year programme and, it’s not too late for practices wanting support to be considered in future rounds.

GP practices should contact their NHS England local office for more information, ideally as early possible, to establish how they can self-refer for support.

North Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
Cheshire and Merseyside Kirk Benyon kirk.benyon@nhs.net
Cumbria and North East Helen Reynard, Claire Lynch helen.reynard@nhs.net,

claire.lynch5@nhs.net

Lancashire Louise Fazackerley louise.fazackerley@nhs.net
South Yorkshire Karen Curran karencurran@nhs.net
West Yorkshire Kathryn Hilliam and Anna Ladd kathryn.hilliam@nhs.net and anna.ladd@nhs.net
North Yorkshire Heather Marsh and Chris Clarke heathermarsh@nhs.net and chris.clarke3@nhs.net
Greater Manchester Ben Squires ben.squires@nhs.net

Midlands & East Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
Central Locality (Leicester, Leicestershire & Rutland and Northampton) Lesley Harrison lesley.harrison8@nhs.net
North Locality (Lincolnshire) Judy Patrick and Adrian Audis judy.patrick@nhs.net and adrianaudis@nhs.net
South Locality (Hertfordshire, Bedford/Bedfordshire, Luton, Milton Keynes) Nick Ince and Andrew Tarry nicholasince@nhs.net and andrew.tarry@nhs.net
East Anglia (Cambridgeshire, Peterborough, Norfolk, Suffolk, Great Yarmouth & Waveney) Andrea Patman england.eastgpresilience@nhs.net
Essex Alison Cowie england.eastgpresilience@nhs.net
North Midlands Joe Lunn joe.lunn@nhs.net and soyuz.shrestha1@nhs.net
West Midlands Martina Ellery martina.ellery@nhs.net

London Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
North East London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net
North West London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net
South London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net

South Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
South Central Nicky Wadely England.SouthCentralPC@nhs.net
South East Kirsty Lewis Kirstylewis2@nhs.net
South West Pam Smith pam.smith3@nhs.net
Wessex Olivia Falgayrac-Jones olivia.falgayrac-jones@nhs.net

View the template Memorandum of Understanding which is the outline agreement for practices taking up support.

Other relevant programmes of support

In addition to the General Practice Resilience Programme, there are other national programmes currently   offering support to GP practices and GPs (including trainee GPs).