About Integrated Care Pioneers

Integrated Care Pioneers act as exemplars, demonstrating the use of ambitious and innovative approaches to efficiently deliver integrated care. Following an independent selection process, 14 pioneer sites across England were announced in November 2013. The selection process was repeated in the autumn of 2014, and a further 11 pioneer sites joined the programme in January 2015.

These 25 integrated care pioneer sites (the pioneers) are developing and testing new and different ways of joining up health and social care services across England, utilising the expertise of the voluntary and community sector, with the aim of improving care, quality and effectiveness of services being provided.

The pioneer sites are:

  • Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven
  • Barnsley
  • Blackpool and Fylde Coast
  • Camden
  • Cheshire
  • Cornwall
  • East London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Greenwich
  • Islington
  • Kent
  • Leeds
  • Nottingham City
  • Nottingham County
  • NW London
  • Sheffield
  • South Devon and Torbay
  • South Somerset
  • South Tyneside
  • Southend
  • Staffordshire
  • Vale of York
  • Wakefield
  • West Norfolk
  • Worcestershire