2022 shortlist, highly commended and award winners

Congratulations to all colleagues across the region who were nominated in our first ever Midlands Inclusivity and Diversity Award Scheme (MIDAS). We received over 175 nominations and it was great to hear about the work taking place across the region to make the NHS an inclusive place to work for all staff.

Excellence in Executive Inclusive Leadership Award

  • Award goes to: Angela Hillery, Chief Executive at Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust and Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust
  • Highly commended: Shajeda Ahmed, Chief People Officer at Black Country Integrated Care Board
  • Top shortlist: Alan Duffell, Chief People Officer at The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust

Changemaker of the Year Award

  • Award goes to (joint winners): Jane Sanjeevi, Senior International Nurse Pastoral Support Facilitator at Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust AND Sabrina Richards, Head of Talent, Diversity, and Inclusion at Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Highly commended: Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust – Recruitment Community Engagement Team
  • Top shortlist: Lincolnshire Partnership Foundation NHS Trust – Bullying and Harassment Steering group.


Best Ally of the Year Award

  • Award goes to: Dr Ed Fogden, Consultant Gastroenterologist at Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust
  • Highly commended: Tom Warner, Clinical Workforce Equalities Manager at NHS England Midlands
  • Top shortlist: Zoe Marsh, Associate Director of People at The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust

Inclusive Integrated Care System (ICS) of the Year Award

  • Award goes to: Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland ICS
  • Highly commended: Black country ICS
  • Top shortlist: Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent ICS

Unsung Star Award

  • Award goes to: Dr Shehla Imtiaz-Umer, GP Partner at Wilson Street Surgery in Derbyshire
  • Highly commended: Pancy Jose, Clinical Operations Matron at Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Top shortlist: Carol Verner, Interim Head of Equality Diversity and Inclusion at Kettering General Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Outstanding Staff Network Award

  • Award goes to: BAME Council at Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust – Chair of the group, Joan Dyer
  • Highly commended: Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust’s BAME Network – Co-Chairs of the group, Mohammed Koli and Emilia Chitenhe
  • Top shortlist: BAME Shared Decision-Making Council at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust – Chair of the group, Derek Apawo

EDI Champion of the Year Award

  • Award goes to: Asha Day, Head of International Recruitment at Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust
  • Highly commended:  Jennifer Straker, AHP Faculty Project Lead at Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust and Harvir Purawal, Specialist Community Dietitian at Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • Top shortlist: Afrah Muflihi, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Lead Midwife at Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust
  • Top shortlist: Becky Cooke, Workforce Inclusion and Culture Lead at The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust
  • Top shortlist: Maria Arthur, Deputy Director of Assurance at The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust