About the NHS Parliamentary Awards

The NHS is one of our country’s proudest achievements which has been built on the hard work of its dedicated staff. Whether it is our doctors, nurses, pharmacists, medical scientists, cleaners, clerical staff, porters, or our amazing volunteers – all their hard work and commitment is essential to delivering excellent healthcare.

The NHS Parliamentary Awards launched in 2018 to celebrate the NHS’s 70th birthday and recognise the outstanding contribution of staff, volunteers and others working in the health and care sector. Now in its seventh year, the awards have grown each year – with over 750 nominations being submitted by over half of MPs representing constituencies in England in 2023 alone.

These awards also provide an excellent opportunity for health and care organisations to engage with their local MPs, tell them about the work they do, and build or strengthen ongoing relationships.

The NHS Parliamentary Awards represent a chance for MPs to say thank you once again for all the work done to support the NHS in your constituency. Therefore, we would encourage all health and care organisations to encourage with their local MPs to get involved and show their local NHS staff, volunteers and carers what the health service means to them and the communities they serve each day.

Please note, nominations open on Thursday 29 February 2024 and will be closing at 12pm on Friday 26 April 2024.

In 2024, the NHS Parliamentary Awards are being supported by the Chartered Management Institute and Medical Defence Union.

MPs can nominate an individual or organisation for an award in one of the following categories:

  • The Excellence in Healthcare Award
  • The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award
  • The Future NHS Award
  • The Nursing and Midwifery Award
  • The Health Equalities Award
  • The Excellence in Primary Care and Community Care Award
  • The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award
  • The Excellence in Education and Training Award – new for 2024
  • The Volunteer Award
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award

Read more about the categories and criteria.