How to nominate

The nomination process has been designed to make it as easy as possible for individuals and organisations to make nominations and to encourage their local MPs to submit them on their behalf.

MPs will be encouraged to reach out to their local health and care organisations, as well as members of the public, to seek nominations. However, we strongly recommend that health and care organisations take a proactive approach to encourage their MPs to put them forward.

There are ten categories in which you can put forward nominations – and you can do so in as many as you like. Each category will have three specific questions to guide the nominator, and a 300-word limit for each.

We are looking for nominees who have made a real difference to the care provided to patients through dedication, innovation or compassion. It is worth noting that nominees:

  • Do not necessarily have to work within the NHS. They can also work alongside the NHS provided that they help to deliver high-quality healthcare.
  • Do not have to be frontline workers. Over half of people employed by the NHS do not have frontline or clinical roles.
  • Can be either individuals, teams or even entire organisations.

In all awards, the questions to be answered on the nomination form are:

  1. What has been done? – detail the exceptional work to benefit patients and/or staff.
  2. What was the impact? – detail how the work has had a positive impact on patients and/or staff, including particular groups where applicable and to what extent (including statistics or case studies).
  3. What happens next? – detail how this work will be developed further, or best practice shared locally, regionally, or nationally to benefit more patients and/or staff.

Submit your nomination

Please submit your nomination to your local MP using the template form below so that your MP or their staff have all the necessary information to hand and can easily copy it into the official nomination form which will be on a web portal.

A template email or letter to send to your MP(s) covering your nomination(s) can also be downloaded here:

Download the information pack to support any individual, team or organisation who wishes to submit a nomination for the NHS Parliamentary Awards.