Building General Practice Resilience

The General Practice Resilience Programme

The General Practice Resilience Programme is £40m over four years (until 2020) to support GP practices across the country in a range of ways. The first £16m of this funding has been allocated for this year (2016/17).

This funding is in addition to £10m of previous investment, committed in December 2015, to support practices identified as needing the greatest support.

What support is available?

The menu of support ranges from helping to stabilise practices at risk of closure through to more transformational support to help practice resilience in the future. This could include:

  • Diagnostic services to quickly identify areas for improvement support
  • Specialist advice and guidance e.g. HR,IT
  • Coaching/Supervision/Mentorship
  • Practice Management Capacity Support
  • Rapid Intervention and management support for Practices at risk of closure
  • Co-ordinated support to help practices struggling with workforce issues
  • Change management and improvement support to individual practices or group of practices

Across the country this is being delivered through local resilience team or pools of experienced GPs and other practice staff, to help with practice management, recruitment issues, and capacity and plan and implement changes that will support practices become more sustainable and resilient.

Support is free to practices, conditional only on matched commitment from practices, evidence through an agreed action plan/memorandum of understanding.

How can GP practices access this support?

NHS England local teams are already developing and delivering support offers to practices including diagnostic assessments and practical advice and help to secure agreed improvements.

GP practices can also speak to their NHS England local office for more information.

North Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
Cheshire and Merseyside Kirk Benyon kirk.benyon@nhs.net
Cumbria and North East Ros Goode rosgoode@nhs.net
Lancashire Louise Fazackerley louise.fazackerley@nhs.net
South Yorkshire Karen Curran karencurran@nhs.net
West Yorkshire Kathryn Hilliam and Anna Ladd kathryn.hilliam@nhs.net and anna.ladd@nhs.net
North Yorkshire Heather Marsh and Chris Clarke heathermarsh@nhs.net and chris.clarke3@nhs.net
Greater Manchester Ben Squires ben.squires@nhs.net

Midlands & East Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
Central Locality (Leicester, Leicestershire & Rutland and Northampton) Lesley Harrison lesley.harrison8@nhs.net
North Locality (Lincolnshire) Judy Patrick and Adrian Audis judy.patrick@nhs.net and adrianaudis@nhs.net
South Locality (Hertfordshire, Bedford/Bedfordshire, Luton, Milton Keynes) Nick Ince and Andrew Tarry nicholasince@nhs.net and andrew.tarry@nhs.net
East Anglia (Cambridgeshire, Peterborough, Norfolk, Suffolk, Great Yarmouth & Waveney) Andrea Patman england.eastgpresilience@nhs.net
Essex Alison Cowie england.eastgpresilience@nhs.net
North Midlands Joe Lunn joe.lunn@nhs.net and soyuz.shrestha1@nhs.net
West Midlands Martina Ellery martina.ellery@nhs.net

London Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
North East London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net
North West London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net
South London Liz Wise liz.wise1@nhs.net

South Region

NHS England Region and Local Office Team Name Contact details
South Central Nicky Wadely England.SouthCentralPC@nhs.net
South East Kirsty Lewis Kirstylewis2@nhs.net
South West Pam Smith pam.smith3@nhs.net
Wessex Olivia Falgayrac-Jones olivia.falgayrac-jones@nhs.net