Core20PLUS Accelerator Sites

The Core20PLUS Accelerator Sites is a new NHS England programme delivered in partnership with the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) and the Health Foundation (HF). It is made up of seven accelerator sites which will help to develop and share good healthcare inequalities improvement practice across integrated care systems (ICSs).

The seven ICSs have received funding to support their participation in this programme in order to develop and enhance their healthcare inequalities improvement knowledge and skills. On top of this, the sites will be given additional support from the IHI to apply these skills to tackle local healthcare inequalities.

Focusing on the five clinical areas outlined in the Core20PLUS5 approach, the programme will seek to narrow health care inequalities for people living in the most deprived areas and individuals from ‘PLUS’ population groups including ethnic minority and inclusion health groups.

The seven accelerator sites are:

  1. Lancashire and South Cumbria ICS
  2. Cornwall and Isles of Scilly ICS
  3. Humber and North Yorkshire ICS
  4. Nottingham and Nottinghamshire ICS
  5. Surrey Heartlands ICS
  6. Mid and South Essex ICS
  7. North Central London ICS

Accelerator sites were identified via an expression of interest process in December 2022.

To find out more about what the accelerator sites are delivering or to be kept up to date on future Accelerator opportunities join the healthcare inequalities FutureNHS platform (log-in required).