Our work

The Safeguarding Steering Groups are made up of eight subgroups, providing specialised support for affected individuals. Areas we cover include:

Female Genital Mutilation

Female genital mutilation comprises all procedures involving partial or total removal of the external female genitalia or other injury to the female genital organs for non-medical reasons. It has no health benefits and harms girls and women in a number of ways.  Read more.

Mental Capacity Act

The National Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards Sub Group provides national leadership, support and advice in the delivery of the Mental Capacity Act and the Depravation of Liberties, within the Healthcare setting across England.  Read more.

Child Sexual Exploitation Sub-Group

The sub-group is accountable to NHS England’s National Safeguarding Group and membership consists of representatives from across health agencies including Designated Safeguarding Children Professionals; Health & Justice; Care Quality Commission; Public Health England; National Working Group CSE.   Read more.

Looked After Children

The National Looked After Children Safeguarding Sub Group membership is made up of key representatives from Designated Looked after Children Professionals, Regional and DCO teams, Clinical Commissioning groups (CCGs), provider organisations, The Royal College of Nursing, Department of Health and Department for Education.  Read more.

Adult Safeguarding Network

The network brings together professionals across the UK.  The group was established to work together on standardising National topics related to safeguarding adults. Mental Capacity Act (MCA) and the Intercollegiate adult document have been reviewed and revised this year.  Read more.


The NHS England National Prevent Sub Group is a multi-disciplinary team made up of nursing, safeguarding, security management, emergency preparedness and management specialists.  The group was established to work together on the latest chapter of our safeguard duties that protect vulnerable individuals from being groomed in to terrorist activity or supporting terrorism.  Read more.

Child Protection Information Sharing Project CP-IS

The Child Protection Information Sharing (CP-IS) programme is an NHS England sponsored nationwide initiative that helps clinicians in unscheduled care settings identify vulnerable children.  Read more.

The Children Safeguarding Network

The National Network of Designated Healthcare Professionals for Safeguarding Children (NNDHP) brings together all the child safeguarding, children looked after and CDOP designated professionals into one NHS network and
the purpose of the Network is to give a national voice to the local safeguarding advice which collectively amounts to national concern.  Read more.