Specialised services

How to get involved in specialised services commissioning

NHS England commissions specialised services including services for:

  • Internal medicine – digestion, renal, hepatobiliary and circulatory system
  • Cancer
  • Mental health
  • Trauma – traumatic injury, orthopaedics, head and neck and rehabilitation
  • Women and children – women and children, congenital and inherited diseases
  • Blood and infection – infection, immunity and haematology

Patients and the public are included in the NHS England groups that are responsible for overseeing the commissioning of specialised services. More information about opportunities to get involved and updates can be found in the specialised commissioning section of the NHS England website.

If you would like more information about how NHS England involves patients and the public in specialised services commissioning you can also read the Framework for Patient and Public Participation in Specialised Commissioning.