The CAHPO 2021 Awards: categories and winners

Chief Allied Health Professions Officer (CAHPO) Suzanne Rastrick hosted the fifth annual CAHPO Awards virtually on Allied Health Professions’ (AHPs’) Day – 14 October 2021.

The evening offered a unique opportunity for Allied Health Professionals (AHPs), either nominated by their peers or by themselves, to receive recognition for their personal contributions towards delivery of exceptional care for patients.

The winners on the evening were:

AHP Creative provision of placements award winner 2021

PBT CPEP Delivery Group, The Christie NHS Foundation Trust – This project created national accessibility for Therapeutic Radiographer students to a clinical placement in the first NHS Proton Beam Therapy Service, via an innovative clinical practice placement model.

AHP Public health champion award winner 2021

Alex Larkin – Alex is a specialist community dietitian for adults with a learning disability at Sutton Health and Care and Hertfordshire Partnership Foundation Trust. The project involved implementation of a nutrition education programme for staff within residential homes for adults with learning disabilities, to improve their ability to provide healthy balanced diets and meet residents’ nutritional needs

AHP digital practice award winner 2021

Stephanie Mansell and Dr Iain Loughran – Stephanie Mansell is a consultant respiratory physiotherapist and Dr Iain Loughran (PhD) is a senior research manager, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust. ONCALLbuddy is an educational application for AHPs working in urgent and emergency respiratory areas. ONCALLbuddy provides an accessible overview of common conditions, assessment, and treatment interventions.

AHP innovation and delivery of systems award winner 2021

Lincolnshire Stroke Service, Lincolnshire Community Health Services – Lincolnshire Stroke AHPs, tentatively came together across organisational boundaries. Transformation continues, driven by open collaboration. United, we move closer to a Service that is ‘fit for our own families’.

AHP compassionate leadership award winner 2021

Sue Ramsey – Sue Ramsey is a clinical specialist physiotherapist at East Suffolk and North East Essex Foundation Trust. Sue demonstrated compassionate leadership to her colleagues and immense dedication to patients during the COVID-19 pandemic. Leading respiratory physiotherapy in Critical Care, she created and delivered 24/7 physiotherapy cover.

AHP research impact award winner 2021

Dr Luise Marino – Dr Luise Marino is a clinical academic paediatric dietitian, University Hospital Southampton NHS FT and a programme Lead at University of Winchester. Luise’s project was a  quality improvement project to improve growth and outcomes of infants with congenital heart disease before surgery through the development and implementation of a nutrition pathway along with parent information to better

AHP workforce transformation award 2021 and chief allied health professions officers AHP of the year 2021

Rahilah Bukhari – Rahilah is an Orthoptic Casualty Lead at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust. Rahilah led on a collaborative partnership working to develop and initiate a ‘unique’ risk-stratified, patient focused, Orthoptic-led acute paediatric eye service enabling appropriate investigation, treatment, and onward referral in a timely manner.

Suzanne Rastrick paid tribute to all the partners who had supported this year’s awards.