The CAHPO 2019 Awards: categories and winners

Chief Allied Health Professions Officer Suzanne Rastrick hosted her annual awards at the Royal Society last night.

The evening provided a significant opportunity to celebrate the vital contribution and impact of the Allied Health Professions to improving health, care and wellbeing, of the population we serve.

Winners of the AHP awards 2019

The winners on the evening were:


AHP Leader of the Year Award 2019

Angela Shimada– for her work as Chair of the Lincolnshire AHP Strategic forum and co-chair of the Lincolnshire Clinical Cabinet.  In undertaking these roles, Angela has demonstrated excellent leadership skills, steadfast commitment, limitless energy and inspiring ideas all in the name of celebrating everything Allied Health Professions’

AHP Student of the Year Award 2019

Adam Davis and Harry Ford- Adam and Harry volunteered for the first ever role emerging Physiotherapy placements to be undertaken at the University of the West of England.  These placements were with the care home liaison team who previously had no physiotherapy provision.  They were both keen to take on the opportunity and challenge, they approached the whole experience with enthusiasm, professionalism and maturity, allowing the care home staff to gain a positive insight into how physiotherapy can be beneficial in this setting.

AHP Public Health Champion Award 2019

Jo Smith- Healthy weights in mental health and learning disabilities Jo led the implementation of a pathway demonstrated to improve weight management amongst people with mental health and learning disabilities, groups who experience significant health inequalities.

AHP Quality Improvement Award 2019

Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre Enhanced Recovery Therapy Team- Reducing length of stay post knee surgery.  The team implemented an innovative rehabilitation protocol for all patients receiving knee surgery using a service improvement methodology, leading to 45.5% of patients being discharge on the day of surgery.

AHP Workforce Award 2019

Lindsay Pyne – Healthcare Careers Discovery Days a new initiative to increase local young people’s knowledge of all healthcare career choices, especially AHP professions. Lindsay and the team led three Careers Days attended by 156 young people with staff and

students representing every clinical profession in the organisation

NHS Digital Practice Award 2019

Iona Elborough-Whitehouse and Mark Simpson- eFGD (Functional Gut Disorder) Tool Iona and Mark developed an electronic e-form for use by patients to complete the functional gut disorder tool.  The implementation has led to reductions in the length and frequency of patient appointments.  The use of the tool has also enabled improved patient self-management.

AHP Clinical Focus Award 2019: Cancer

Head and Neck Cancer Rehabilitation Team

Providing Specialist Rehabilitation at Every Stage of the Cancer Journey- The Head and Neck Cancer Rehabilitation Team in South East London offers an innovative service which exemplifies the commitments, priorities and impacts described in AHPs in Action.  They offer holistic personalised care which is truly multidisciplinary, thereby contributing to the delivery of one of the milestones for cancer described in the NHS Long Term Plan.   By offering seamless rehabilitation in acute and community settings, the service supports integration and reduces duplication and fragmentation resulting in improved health and wellbeing for the individuals treated.

NICE into Action Award 2019

Carolyne Hague, Enabling Intermediate Care – Carolyne demonstrated an innovative approach to an area that is a national priority, timely access to intermediate care. The nomination demonstrated AHPs pushing boundaries of multi-professional, strategic leadership and having an impact at a system-wide level. The approach and learning is applicable across all areas of AHP practice and services, not just intermediate care. They clearly described and used a range of recognised QI and change methodologies and was well linked to NICE guidance and quality standards throughout.

AHP Research Impact Award 2019 and Chief Allied Health Professions Officers AHP of the Year 2019

Rob Goodwin- First Point of contact Physiotherapy Rob’s research focussed on First Contact Physiotherapy Practice, an important area of development for AHPs, and a current policy priority.  The nomination was impressive both in terms of subject, methodology and leadership. It demonstrates potential for wide spread uptake with good local and national impact for patients and staff.  The work is likely to have further national influence and spread especially with ongoing research activities, already significant in terms of influencing Chartered Society of Physiotherapy and NHS policy

Suzanne Rastrick paid tribute to all the partners who had supported this year’s awards.

During the evening Simon Stevens provided a video message for those attending the event and we were joined by the NHS choir as part of our celebration.