Our NHS at 75 – shortlist announced

 We are delighted to announce the shortlisted photos from the ‘Our NHS at 75’ photo competition, in partnership with Fujifilm.

The striking images display the extraordinary talent of our NHS staff, and those who work or volunteer alongside them.

One of the images features Britain’s oldest volunteer 102-year-old Beryl Carr, who can recall the very first day the NHS came into existence.

Among the other entries there are striking images capturing a patient playing a violin while undergoing brain surgery, a pharmacy robot, air ambulances and those documenting the NHS’ incredible COVID-19 vaccination effort. Entries were judged by a star-studded panel including This Morning’s resident GP Dr Ellie, award winning journalist Victoria Macdonald, eminent photographer Lewis Khan, Dr Habib Naqvi MBE, Fujifilm’s Theo Georghiades and Chief Nursing Officer for England, Dame Ruth May.

The competition saw hundreds of photos entered by staff and volunteers across five categories, including:

  • Our care – this category captures that core value – whether that is the care we provide our patients, or to each other as colleagues.
  • Our environment – this category explores NHS grounds and buildings – indoors and out – and how individuals, teams and communities are working together to integrate sustainability into what we do.
  • Our innovations – this category celebrates innovation across the NHS in all its forms – from cutting edge treatments to pioneering ways of delivering care.
  • Our partners – this category celebrates the crucial role those partnerships play in helping us deliver the best possible care for patients.
  • Our people – this category recognises the individuals and teams that make up who we are.

Each of the 75 shortlisted photographers have been invited to the launch event of ‘Our NHS at 75’ on the 4 July at the Fujifilm House of Photography, where the competition winners will also be announced.

The 75 photographs will be displayed at an exhibition at Fujifilm House of Photography in Covent Garden, London and will be open to public viewing from the 5 July – 75 years to the day from the date that the NHS was established.

The five winners will also have their photograph displayed at the NHS 75th anniversary service at Westminster Abbey on Wednesday 5th July.

Our care shortlist

Alice Kenny University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust
Beatriz Guandelini Campesi NHS Property Services
Brendan McIlhargey Ashford and St Peter’s Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Deborah Wickens Barking Havering and Redbridge NHS Hospitals Trust
Ewa Gasior NHS Leeds Teaching Hospitals
Joe O’Hagan Royal Brompton and Harefield Hospitals
John Slater The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust
Jon Williamson University College Hospital London
Kristen Zaira Morales Imperial Colllege Healthcare NHS Trust
Mike Fulford Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Miriam Yacomeni Royal United Hospital
Muhibur Miah Barts Health NHS Trust
Petro Bekker Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals
Richard Pearson Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust
Zahra Makada Mid Yorkshire Teaching NHS Trust

Our environment shortlist

Addison Evans Eynsham Medical Group
Caroline Ann Green Oxford University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Davina Abbott The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
Derek Francis St Georges Hospital NHS Trust London
Elena Comber-Davies University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust – Royal Stoke
Ella Barks Oxford Medical Illustration
Joe Cartwright South Western Ambulance Service
Jose Renato Hernandez Barts Health NHS
Laura Abbatiello Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Lottie Bolster Lottie Bolster studios
Lucy Wilmer University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust
Nicci Starr NHS Somerset ICB
Priya Lankathilake Barts Health
Rebecca Albany Barts Health Trust
Stacey Camp Mid Yorks NHS Teaching Trust

Our innovations shortlist

Carmen Carrera-Bravo Cambridge University Hospitals
Christopher Hardy Pennine Care Foundation NHS Trust
Emily Arthur Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust
Hayley Edwards NHS England – North West
Lee Edwards Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Neil Parmar University Hospitals Birmingham
Nial Anderson King’s College Hospital NHS Trust
Nigel Haywood Gloucestershire Hospitals Managed Services (GMS)
Nikki Stares Portsmouth Hospitals University NHS Trust
Rhianna Marsden Derbyshire Community Health Services
Richard Aldred Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Simon Brinkworth University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust
Wasim Baqir Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust
Waqas Akhtar Guy’s and St Thomas Foundation NHS Trust
Zeid Abussuud National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery (University College London Hospitals)

Our partners shortlist

Amina Abu El Hawa Airedale NHS Foundation Trust
Carys Knapper Staffordshire and Stoke Integrated Care System
Claire Morton South Warwickshire University NHS Foundation Trust
Dan Elms East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust
Jordan Duke Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Julian Ivery The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
Laura Abbatiello Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Mary McConnell and
Jenny Brodie
Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust
Mihaela Wopat Cambridge University Hospitals
Mrs Tracy Crossin Portsmouth University Hospitals
Peta Miller Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust
Piotr Peksa Barts Health NHS Trust
Richard Tatham Sherwood Forest
Ross Mainprize Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust
Steve Watkins London Northwest University Healthcare NHS Trust

Our people shortlist

Amy Sumner Portsmouth Hospitals University Trust
Arva Gallofin Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust
Belinda Hastie NHS Blood and Transplant
Ben Carter University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
Caitlin O’Connell Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
David Enyori Mid Yorks Teaching Hospital
Emmanuel Espiritu Chelsea and Westminster, West Middlesex Hospital NHS Trust
Haidee S. Evangelista Barts Health NHS Trust (Newham University Hospital)
Jason Dimmock Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
Jenny Anila Potasznik Royal United Hospitals, Bath
Megan Litjens Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust
Morten Watkins Portsmouth Hospitals University NHS Trust
Nesa Kelmendi Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust
Roopal Vyas NHS England
Ruthie Clegg York Hospital